Comfortable wins for Zebbug, Hibernians and Pietà

Zebbug Rangers, Hibernians and Pietà Hotspurs were the first three teams to secure a place in the fourth round of the FA Trophy after they registered comfortable wins in matches from the third round which were played on Friday.

At the National Stadium, a Taylon Correa Marcolino hat-trick paved the way for a 5-1 win for Hibernians over Qormi. The Paolites face San Gwann or Fgura United in the next round.

Taylon Correa put Hibs ahead on the 11th minute and two minutes later, he doubled the score. On the 16th minute, the Brazilian scored his third goal. Jurgen Degabriele scored a fourth goal just before half-time. Qormi reduced the gap five minutes in the second half thanks to a Manolito Micallef penalty but Isaac Ntow made it 5-1 two minutes from time.

QORMI Jamie Azzopardi, Freud Gnindokponou, Yannick Yankam, Seo In Kim, Manolito Micallef, Alan Abela, Alessio Cassar, Alexsandro Ferreira (51’ Iven Zammit), Lubos Adamec (38’ Gaetano Gesualdi), Michael Borg (72’ Michael Camilleri), Tensior Gusman.

HIBS Rudy Briffa, Dunstan Vella (60’ Johann Bezzina), Nemanja Radojevic, Joseph Mbong, Marcelo Dias (74’ David Xuereb), Jurgen Degabriele, Bjorn Kristensen, Isaac Ntow, Taylon Correa Marcolino (46’ Guttiner Costa Tenorio), Andrei Agius, Tiago Adan Fonseca.

Referee: Stefan Pace
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Dusan Petrovic
Fourth Official: Andrea Sciriha
Attendance at the National Stadium: 252

In the first match at the Centenary Stadium, First Division side Zebbug Rangers defeated Second Division side Birzebbuga St. Peter’s 5-0. Zebbug, who had eliminated Marsaxlokk in the previous round, will meet either Vittoriosa Stars or Tarxien Rainbows in the next round.

Ryan Micallef put the Rangers ahead on the 9th minute and Thiago Rodrigo dos Santos doubled the score on the 27th. Four minutes later, Jose Lucas Caetano da Silva made it 3-0. On the hour, Thiago Rocha added another with Ze Lucas scoring Zebbug’s fifth on the 74th minute.

BIRZEBBUGA Levi Saliba, Melchior Grech, John Micallef, Rene Duca, Christopher Cutajar, Felipe Pedrosa de Almeida, Dylan Pirotta, Melvin Pisani, Joshua Farrugia (69’ Christian Diego Mifsud), Andre Tabone (46’ Andrea Cutajar), Sam Kind (54’ Paul Camilleri).

ZEBBUG Dylan Galea, Dion Fava, Steve Schembri, Dillon Pace, Samuel Buhagiar, Andrea Cutajar (64’ Kyle Tanti), Thiago Rodrigo dos Santos, Clive Brincat (69’ Matthew Camilleri), Jose Lucas Caetano da Silva, Ryan Micallef (76’ Shamison Buttigieg), Joseph Farrugia.

Referee: Sandro Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Jurgen Spiteri, Robert Curtis
Fourth Official: Daniel Casha

In the second match at the Centenary Stadium, Pietà Hotspurs defeated Mdina Knights 4-1. In the fourth round, the Hotspurs meet Pembroke Athleta or Zejtun Corinthians.

Shunsuke Nakamura put the Hotspurs ahead on the 33rd. Twelve minutes in the second half, Jan Busuttil doubled the score and seven minutes later, Nakamura added another. Cachel Vella reduced the gap two minutes from time but James Scicluna converted a penalty in added time.

MDINA Justin Tonna, Ryan Micallef (90’ Daniel Cluett), Kurt Drakard (67’ Cachel Vella), Daniel Sant, Julien Iwueke, Mark Saliba (82’ Jonathan Muscat), Ryan Sciberras, Thomas Philip Debono, Djan Cassar Jackson, Christian Grech, Wayne Camilleri.

PIETÀ Jacob Chircop St John, Christian Degabriele, Neil Pace Cocks, Dylan Agius (72’ Harry Singh), Jan Busuttil, Nicholas Pisani (67’ James Scicluna), Juan Manuel Artiaga Roa, Christian Grech, Shunsuke Nakamura (79’ Clyde Bouvet), Ishaya Irimiya Jalo, Antonio Orlando de Queiroz Macedo Neto.

Referee: Ishmael Barbara
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Darko Stankovic
Fourth Official: Alex Johnson
Attendance at the Centenary Stadium: 91 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.