Sliema Wanderers halt Greens’ positive run

Sliema Wanderers returned to winning ways as they defeated Floriana 3-1 at the Hibernians Stadium on Sunday.

This defeat brought to an end the Greens’ unbeaten run of eleven matches. Ironically, Floriana had suffered their last defeat back in October – against Sliema with an identical 1-3 score.

Floriana had two changes from the last game against Hibernians as Mario Fontanella and Ryan Camenzuli replaced Jurgen Pisani and the suspended Amadou Samb. Alex Muscat, Gabriel Aquilina and Ryan Spiteri were included in the starting line-up in lieu of Beppe Muscat, Wisdom Salomon and the suspended John Mintoff for Sliema.

The Wanderers took the lead on the 25th minute when off a cross by Frank Temile from the left, Denni’s conclusion was partially saved by Haber with the ball being deflected by Alex Cini into the net for an own goal.

Ten minutes in the second half, Sliema doubled the score when substitute Wisdom Salomon sent Jean Paul Farrugia through and the latter slotted past Haber.

Floriana pulled one back on the 61st minute when Ignacio Varela was brought down inside the area and from the penalty spot, Mario Fontanella converted.

However on the 76th minute, Enzo Ruiz floored Jean Paul Farrugia inside the area; referee Clayton Pisani sent off the Floriana defender and ordered a penalty and from the penalty spot, Denni Rocha dos Santos converted.

FLORIANA Justin Haber, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Steve Pisani, Clyde Borg (62’ Antonio Monticelli), Ignacio Varela, Maurizio Vella, Alex Cini (62’ Andre Scicluna), Nicolas Chiesa, Mario Fontanella, Ryan Camenzuli.
Subs not used: Matthew Grech, Jake Davies, Conor Borg, Mattia Zarb, Jurgen Pisani.
Coach: Giovanni Tedesco

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Frank Temile, Marko Potezica, Stefano Bianciardi (54’ Wisdom Solomon), Peter Xuereb, Gabriel Aquilina Denni Rocha dos Santos (90+1’ Kurt Shaw), Ryan Spiteri, Mark Scerri, Alex Muscat, Jean Paul Farrugia.
Subs not used: Giuseppe Sarao, Michele Sansone, Armando Dos Santos Tarlaziz, Andrea Martinelli, Gary Muscat.
Coach: John Buttigieg

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Christopher Francalanza
Fourth Official: Mario Apap
Yellow Cards: Pepe, Scerri, S. Pisani, Temile, Bianciardi, Denni, Chiesa
Red Cards: 75’ Enzo Ruiz
Scorers: 25′ own goalAlex Cini, 55’ Jean Paul Farrugia, 61’ Mario Fontanella, 76’ Denni Rocha dos Santospen
BOV Player of the Match: Denni Rocha Dos Santos
Attendance at the Hibernians Stadium: 556

Meanwhile at the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Hamrun Spartans found no difficulty in beating Mosta 3-0.

Hamrun coach Jacques Scerri named Brandon Paiber in the starting line-up. Paiber was one of five changes for the Spartans along with Saturday Nanapere, Patrick Teixeira, Jorge Mesqueu Neto and new recruit Igor Misan. The other new signing, Mosta had three changes from the team which lost to Tarxien as Jaroslav Repa, Kemar Reid and new signing Mario Toth replaced Dany Djoufack, Gabriel Bezak and Erik Mikes.

Hamrun managed to take the lead on the 22nd minute thanks to Jake Grech whose rising shot hit the crossbar before ending at the back of the net.

The Spartans doubled the score eight minutes from the end of the first half thanks to Brandon Paiber who received an assist by Nanapere and controlled the ball before hitting low past Yenz Cini from the edge of the area.

Mosta were reduced to ten men on the 77th minute after David Fenech received a second yellow card for a foul in midfield.

One minute in added time, Jake Grech scored a third goal when he took advantage of some poor defending and chipped the ball over goalkeeper Yenz Cini

HAMRUN David Cassar, Patrick Jean Teixeira Maia, Karl Micallef, Luke Sciberras, Jake Grech, Igor Misan, Brandon Paiber (74′ Siraj Arab), Saturday Nanapere (62′ Manolito Micallef), Jorge Mesqueu Neto, Sergio Raphael dos Anjos.
Subs not used: Lyden Moore, Leandro Wallace Motta dos Santos, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza, Luis Miguel Vergara Rodrigues, Trevor Cilia.
Coach: Jacques Scerri

MOSTA Yenz Cini, Mario Toth, Chinatu Francis Onwudinjo, David Fenech, Pedro dos Santos Calcado, Kurt Magro (89′ Nicholas Farrugia), Cedric Hengbart, Lucky Victor Oseghale, Neil Frendo (74′ Kyle Frendo), Kemar Reid (69′ Kyle Gatt), Jaroslav Repa.
Subs not used: Claudio Carabott, Jurgen Grech, Luke Galea, Jordan Vella.
Coach: Zsolt Hornyak

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Luke Portelli
Fourth Official: Matthew De Gabriele
Yellow Cards: Jorginho, Pedrinho, Fenech
Red Card: 77′ David Fenech
BOV Player of the Match: Jake Grech
Attendance at the Victor Tedesco Stadium: 535