BOV Division 3: Kalkara, Luqa score six

Kalkara and Luqa St. Andrew’s both scored six as they registered comfortable wins over Mtarfa and Marsaskala respectively in two of the six matches from the BOV Third Division on Saturday.

Leaders Kalkara defeated Mtarfa 6-0 at the Sirens Stadium. Timmy Thomas put Kalkara ahead on the 4th minute, Julian Spiteri doubled the score on the 26th and Thomas converted a penalty seven minutes from the end of the first half to make it 3-0. Christopher Cuschieri scored a fourth goal on the 74th and Ryan Sell scored twice on the 86th and 87th to increase the lead further.

Luqa St. Andrew’s beat Marsaskala 6-0 at the Centenary Stadium. Goals by Leeroy Bonnett on the 16th and George Falzon on the 24th gave Luqa a two-goal lead in the first half before adding another four in the final thirty minutes thanks to Leeroy Bonnett on the hour, Jason Good on the 65th, Randolph Penza on the 79th and Lee Baldacchino ten minutes from time.

Santa Lucia kept the pace with the top two as they beat Msida St. Joseph 2-0 at the Charles Abela Stadium thanks to goals by George Chircop on the 13th minute and Gilbert Camilleri seven minutes later.

Xghajra Tornados returned to winning ways as they beat Dingli Swallows 3-0 at the Centenary Stadium courtesy of Glenn Bonello on the 62nd, Dylan Busuttil on the 84th and Gilbert Scicluna one minute from time.

Sta. Venera Lightnings defeated Zurrieq 3-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Dylan Mercieca put the Lightnings ahead on the 18th and four minutes later, Danijel Vasic doubled the score. One minute in the second half, Vasic added another with Dylan Darmanin reducing the gap five minutes later.

Matthew Fenech was the hero for Mdina Knights as he notched a hat-trick in a 3-0 win over Ta’ Xbiex at the Sirens Stadium. He opened the score on the 67th, made it 2-0 eight minutes later and converted a penalty one minute from time.

Kalkara lead the way with 46 points, followed by Luqa on 41, Santa Lucia 37, Xghajra and Sta. Venera 34, Msida 33, Kirkop 29, Zurrieq 25, Mdina 24, Dingli 19, Ta’ Xbiex 10, Mtarfa 7 and Marsaskala 3.