BOV Division 1: Lija, Senglea maintain promotion challenge but Qormi drop important points

​Lija Athletic and Senglea Athletic maintained the challenge for promotion but Qormi dropped two important points as they were held in a 2-2 draw by Rabat Ajax in the BOV First Division on Sunday.

At the Centenary Stadium, Lija Athletic defeated Pietà Hotspurs 5-0. Erjon Beu opened the score on the 14th minute, Everton da Silva Santos doubled the score on the half-hour and three minutes from the end of the first half, Antoine Borg scored the third goal. Abubakar Bello Osagie increased the lead on the 59th with Aiden Galea adding a fifth goal six minutes from time.

Senglea Athletic registered a 3-0 win over Marsa at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Juninho Cabral converted a penalty on the 15th minute and just before the end of the first half managed to double the draw. Terence Vella made it 3-0 on the 65th minute.

On the other hand, in another match at the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Rabat Ajax notched a late equaliser to deny Qormi a win which would have kept them on track in the battle for promotion. Noah Olawole Ojuola put Qormi ahead on the 32nd minutes but Adam Smeir equalised two minutes from the end of the first half. However Michael Camilleri made it 2-1 for Qormi seven minutes from time. Qormi could have increased the lead further when they were awarded a penalty but Mark Barbara hit the crossbar. Then four minutes in added time, Joseph Caruana levelled matters for Rabat

At the Centenary Stadium, Zebbug Rangers came from behind to beat Gharghur 3-2. Gharghur took the lead courtesy of a goal by Muda Fagbeja on the 22nd minute but Tomislav Trebovac leveled matters ten minutes in the second half. Carlo Gie made it 2-1 for Gharghur on the 68th but six minutes later, Mauricio Rodrigues Britto restored equilibrium. Tomislav Trebovac notched the winner eleven minutes from time.

Naxxar and Lija lead the way with 45 points, followed by Mqabba and Senglea on 44, Qormi 40, Vittoriosa 36, Pietà 32, Sirens and Melita 30, Zebbug 27, Marsa 25, Rabat 22, Gharghur 16 and Fgura 15.