Comfortable win for Valletta in National League 100 Anniversary Cup

Valletta reached the fourth round of the National League 100 Anniversary Cup after they disposed easily of Second Division side Gozo FC, beating them 7-0. The Citizens will now face Vittoriosa Stars in the fourth round next Wednesday.
The clash between Valletta and Gozo was postponed no less than three times with the game originally scheduled for November 9, then for November 25 and finally December 2.
Jordi Cruyff put Valletta ahead on the 9th minute with a fine header. Dyson Falzon doubled the score on the half-hour as he hit home when served by Roderick Briffa. Cruyff made it 3-0 when he converted a penalty a minute later.
Three minutes in the second half, Steve Borg scored the fourth goal with a good header and on the hour, Edmond Agius made it 5-0.
Nine minutes from time, Roderick Briffa scored the sixth goal for the Citizens while Stefan Giglio sealed the issue with another goal on 85 minutes.
VALLETTA Nicky Vella, Steve Borg, Kenneth Scicluna, Luke Dimech, Jamie Pace (46′ Edmond Agius), Dylan Grima, Stefan Giglio, Jordi Cruyff (46′ Ian Zammit), Roderick Briffa (82′ Steve Bezzina), Justin Grioli, Dyson Falzon.
GOZO FC Mark Grima, Alex Tramboo, Michael Vella, Mario Mifsud, Mario Azzopardi, Noel Borg, Jesmond Xerri (61′ Joseph Mizzi), Oliver Farrugia, Ryan Grech (73′ John Paul Grima), Andrew Zammit, Marvin Buttigieg (46′ Anthony Briffa).
Referee: Saviour Tanti

Meanwhile Second Division side Lija Athletic were the first team to reach the quarter-finals as they defeated Naxxar Lions 3-1.
Beppe Antignolo put Lija ahead on 18 minutes but three minutes from the end of the first half, Kevin Fenech levelled matters.
Lija regained the lead thanks to another goal by Beppe Antignolo fourteen minutes in the second half. In added time, Keith Darmanin made it 3-1 for Lija.
NAXXAR Bjorn Attard, Jonathan Agius (67′ Kurt Farrugia), Mattia Del Negro, Kevin Fenech, Justin Zammit, Gilbert Camilleri, Mario Debono (60′ Darren Falzon), Ramon Schembri, Kurt Drago, Kurt Bartolo (25′ Andrea Farrugia), Andrea Del Negro.
LIJA Luke Bonnici, Martin Camilleri, Michael Mangion, Tonio Saliba (56′ Keith Darmanin), Daniel Scerri, Luka Desira Buttigieg (79′ Daniel Cremona), Lydon Cilia (67′ Matthew Schembri), Jean Paul Scerri, Andre Scicluna, Colin Ciantar, Beppe Antignolo.
Referee: Philip Farrugia