U*BET FA Trophy second round

The second round of the U*BET FA Trophy was held over the weekend with three Premier League sides and one from Division 1 joining holders Sliema Wanderers, champions Hibernians, Valletta and Birkirkara in the quarter-finals of the competition which will be played on April 3 and 5.

On Saturday, Hamrun defeated First Division side Marsaxlokk 1-0 thanks to a goal by Gaetan Spiteri while St. Patrick managed to take the lead against Qormi through Daniel Milovanovic but after the break, substitute Steve Meilak levelled matters. Then a hat-trick by Alfred Effiong put Qormi 4-1 ahead before Stefan Giglio added a fifth goal.

At the Hibernians Stadium on Sunday, Balzan Youths eliminated another Premier League side defeated Dingli Swallows on penalties. Following a goalless draw, Simon Shead put them ahead, Dingli equalised through Renato Conceicao but Ivan Zammit converted a penalty to put the Youths into the next round.

On the other hand, Tarxien Rainbows beat Floriana 4-1, also after extra-time. Anderson Mendes Ribeiro gave the Rainbows an early lead. Captain Steve Sadowski was sent off for Tarxien early in the second half and five minutes from time, Floriana were awarded a penalty which was converted by Orosco Anonam. But in the dying minutes, the Greens lost Julian Briffa and Victor Zlydarev, both sent off. In extra-time, Justin Grioli made it 2-1 for Tarxien and after Orosco Anonam was the third Floriana player to be sent off, Denni Rocha Dos Santos and Anderson Ribeiro increased the lead further for Tarxien.

Photos: Copyright © www.stephengatt.com