Qormi back to winning ways

After suffering three consecutive defeats in their last three outings, Qormi returned to winning ways as they defeated Tarxien Rainbows 2-0.

The Yellows, who lacked the suspended Jonathan Bondin with Matthew Bartolo and Ryan Deguara starting on the bench, were clearly the better side throughout the ninety minutes. Anderson Mendes Ribeiro was missing for Tarxien.

Qormi took the lead after just four minutes when Camilo Da Silva Sanvezzo released Alfred Effiong on the left and the latter hit home after beating a defender on the run.

Tarxien replied with a Denni Rocha Dos Santos solo effort whose shot from the right was neutralised by Matthew Farrugia and the same player was unlucky to hit the crossbar on 17 minutes with a shot from the left with the ball bouncing close to the goal line before being cleared into safety.

However five minutes from the end of the first half, Qormi doubled the score when Alfred Effiong managed to serve Camilo Da Silva Sanvezzo inside the area and the latter managed to beat David Cassar with a fine powerful shot. For the Brazilian striker, this was the eighteenth goal this season but the first one in two months.

On 64 minutes, Tarxien had a good opportunity to reduce the gap when they were awarded an indirect freekick inside the area but Denni Rocha Dos Santos’ effort was blocked by a defender.

Alfred Effiong was voted BOV Player of the Match.

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Kenneth Spiteri, Roderick Sammut, Stephen Wellman, Lucas Ramon Dos Santos, Keith Fenech, Joseph Farrugia, Massimo Grima, Stefan Giglio (79′ Duncan Pisani), Alfred Effiong (91′ Ryan Deguara), Camilo Da Silva Sanvezzo (87′ Matthew Bartolo).
Subs not used: Matthew Camilleri, Steve Meilak, Malcolm Buttigieg, Gabriel Buttigieg.
Coach: Vince Carbonaro Team Manager: Jesmond Zerafa

TARXIEN David Cassar, Steven Sadowski (46′ Justin Grioli), Manuel Caruana, David Camilleri, Gianluca Calabretta, Everton Antonio Pereira, Mark Tanti (61′ Ryan Grech), Luke Vella Critien, Denni Rocha Dos Santos, Ryan Mintoff, Kurt Magro.
Subs not used: Anthony Curmi, Warren Zerafa, James Shead, Mario Bajada, Lee Galea.
Coach: Noel Coleiro Asst Coach: Michael Church

Referee: Mark Borg
Assistant Referees: Ingmar Spiteri, Edward Spiteri
Fourth Official: Esther Azzopardi
Yellow Cards: R. Sammut, A. Effiong, Vella Critien, Grioli, Everton, K. Magro, J. Farrugia
Scorers: 4′ Alfred Effiong, 40′ Camilo Da Silva Sanvezzo