Naxxar-Zejtun clash ends in exciting 3-3 draw

The top-of-the table clash from Section B of the BOV Third Division between Naxxar Lions and Zejtun Corinthians ended in a highly entertaining 3-3 draw in front of a packed Centenary Stadium. Therefore the two teams continue to share the top spot in the table.

Naxxar went two goals ahead but Zejtun managed to turn the score in their favour with three goals. However despite having two players sent off, Naxxar managed to equalise.

The Lions went two goals ahead early in the game but the Corinthians managed to turn the score in their favour after levelling matters by the end of the first half.

Naxxar took the lead on the 9th minute when a Kevin Fenech freekick from the left surprised the Zejtun goalkeeper with the ball ending at the back of the net.

Six minutes later, the Lions doubled the score when off a cross from the right by Mario Debono, Gilbert Camilleri hit from close range.

Zejtun reduced the gap on 25 minutes thanks to a goal by Kenneth Abela who anticipated goalkeeper David Vella following a freekick by Charlo Magro from midfield.

The Corinthians equalised on 36 minutes when Kenneth Abela entered the area from the right and served Carmel Formosa who reached the ball before the Naxxar goalkeeper, placing it at the back of the net.

On 64 minutes, Naxxar goalie David Vella brought Jean Paul Abela down inside the area. Referee Mario Apap ordered a penalty and sent off the Naxxar goalkeeper. From the penalty spot, Charlo Magro converted.

Eight minutes later, Kenneth Abela missed an excellent chance when all alone in front of the goalkeeper following a good run on the left by Charlo Magro.

To make matters worse for Naxxar, Darren Falzon received a second yellow card and was therefore marching orders by the referee.

However two minutes from time, the Lions levelled matters, when off a cross from the left by Glenn Magri, Simon Muscat controlled before beating goalkeeper Ranier Farrugia to make it 3-3.

One minute later, Darren Vella was sent off for Zejtun.

Photos: Copyright ©

NAXXAR David Vella, Jonathan Agius, Kevin Fenech (Bjorn Attard – gk), Justin Zammit (Glenn Magri), Matthew Spiteri Gonzi, Gilbert Camilleri, Darren Falzon, Adrian Fenech (Simon Muscat),
Mario Debono, Ramon Schembri, Victor Bellia.
ZEJTUN Ranier Farrugia, Karl Vassallo (Andre Formosa), Kurt Pace (Jean Paul Abela), Clayton Giordimaina, Darren Vella, Matthew Pisani, Charlo Magro, Jesmar Abela, Carmel Formosa, Edward Azzopardi, Kenneth Abela (Vince Camilleri).
Referee: Mario Apap

Meanwhile in a match from Section A on Saturday, Mdina Knights moved three points ahead of Ghaxaq in a clash between the two teams in second place.

Clint Scerri and Ayrton Buhagiar scored the goals for the Knights.

Mgarr United lead the table with 31 points, followed by Mdina on 27 and Ghaxaq on 24.