Youth FA Annual Presentation Night

The Youth Football Association hosted its Annual Presentation Night, to recognise and honor, all the respective Under 15 and Under 17 section winners and runners-up, as well as the most promising players and good conduct awards for the same age groups for the 2009/10 season, in front of a very well attended event.

Addressing a large football family gathered at the Corinthia Hotel & Spa, Attard, Fr. Hilary Tagliaferro, the Youth FA’s President, ever since it’s inception in 1982, retaliated the importance of youth football, the fountain of life for our national teams, but stressed that first and foremost the Youth FA’s role is to instill the sportive culture in our youths. Fr. Hilary also thanked the newly elected Malta FA President, Norman Darmanin Demajo and Vice President, Ludovico Micallef and sponsors APS Bank, Gatorade (Farsons) and Panini (Mr. Anastasi) for attending this event and for their great assistance.

Mr. Norman Darmanin Demajo compared the young footballers attending all the nurseries as the stars of the Association, the future of the game. The newly elected MFA President stated that his vision is that in the near future the Centenary Stadium would become the home of the grassroots football and that the Youth FA be re-located at Ta’ Qali, collectively with the MFA.

The Youth Football Association Awards for the 2009/2010 season are as follows:-

Under 17
Section A: Valletta (winners); Paola Hibs (runners up)
Section B: Sliema Wanderers (winners); St. Andrews (runners up)
Section C 1: Marsa (winners) ; Sta Venera (runners up)
Section C 2: Lija-Iklin (winners) ; Dingli Swallows (runners up)
Section C 3: Attard (winners) ; Sirens (runners up)
Knock Out: Pietà Hotspurs (winners); Valletta (runners up)
Most Promising Player: Sacha Borg (Floriana)
Good Conduct Award: Xghajra Tornados

Under 15
Section A: Pietà Hotspurs (winners); Valletta (runners up)
Section B: Melita (winners); Naxxar L.(runners up)
Section C 1: Gzira United (winners); Sirens (runners up)
Section C 2: Msida St. Joseph (winners); Luqa St. Andrew’s (runners up)
Section C 3: Mellieha (winners); Sta Lucia (runners up)
Knock Out: Valletta (winners); Pietà Hotspurs (runners up)
Most Promising Player: Kyle Cesare (Pietà Hotspurs)
Good Conduct Award: Msida St. Joseph

Photos: Copyright