Birkirkara vs Valletta in BOV Super Cup

The second cup for season 2010/11 will be at stake on Saturday as BOV Premier League champions Birkirkara take on runners-up and U*BET FA Trophy winners Valletta in the BOV Super Cup, kick-off at 19:00.

The Citizens target the eighth Super Cup win while the Stripes are in search of the sixth win.

Valletta won the competition for the first time in 1990 when they defeated Sliema 3-0. The won the competition again three times between 1997 and 1999, defeating Birkirkara 5-2, Hibernians 2-0 and Birkirkara 2-1 respectively. In 2001, they beat Sliema 2-1 and two years ago, the Citizens defeated Birkirkara, once again 2-0.

Birkirkara, on the other hand, won the competition in five successive years between 2002 and 2006. They defeated Hibernians 1-0 after extra-time, Sliema 2-0, Sliema 3-1 after extra-time, Sliema 3-0 and Hibernians 2-1.

The Stripes, who won the BOV Premier League title last season, finishing one point ahead of the Citizens, had already met Valletta a couple of months ago in the Euro Cup. On that occasion, Valletta registered a 3-0 win thanks to goals by Hercules Cardoso Ottoni, Ian Zammit and Dyson Falzon.

Since then both sides represented Malta in European competitions. In the UEFA Champions League, Birkirkara beat FC Santa Coloma of Andorra 7-3 on aggregate in the first qualifying round but were then eliminated by MSK Zilina of Slovakia on a 3-1 aggregate score despite a fine 1-0 win at the Centenary Stadium.

Valletta, on the other hand, were eliminated from the second qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League on the away goals rule following a 1-1 draw at home and a goalless draw away from home to Polish side Ruch Chorzow.

Photo: Copyright ©