Buttigieg names eighteen-man squad for Israel clash

National coach John Buttigieg named the eighteen man squad which will travel to Israel on Monday for the first Euro 2012 qualifying match for Malta in Group F which will be played on Thursday 2nd September at the Ramat Gan Stadium at 21:15.

For this game, Buttigieg dropped from the provisional squad Anthony Curmi, Joseph Zerafa, Trevor Cilia, Kevin Sammut and Ivan Woods.

The eighteen players who will therefore make the trip are:
goalkeepers Andrew Hogg (Valletta), Mario Muscat (Hibernians);
defenders Edward Herrera (Hibernians), Carlo Mamo (Marsaxlokk), Clayton Failla (Sliema), Massimo Grima (Hamrun), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Manny Muscat (Wellington Phoenix), Andrei Agius (Melfi)
midfielders Jamie Pace (Valletta), Shaun Bajada (Birkirkara), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Gareth Sciberras (Marsaxlokk), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Ryan Fenech (Hamrun);
forwards Andrew Cohen (Hibernians), Micheal Mifsud (unattached), Daniel Bogdanovic (Sheffield United).

The team will be travelling back on Friday the 3rd September to continue the preparation for the match against Latvia at the National Stadium in ta` Qali on Tuesday 7th September at 19:30 Hrs.