Second & Third Division Knock-Out takes centre stage

With no Premier League or First Division matches in programme this weekend, the Quick-Keno Second Division Knock-Out takes centre-stage on Sunday as the four quarter-finals will be played at the Centenary Stadium.

Holders Zejtun Corinthians take on Mgarr United while Rabat Ajax face Birzebbuga St. Peter’s in another clash between two Second Division sides. Naxxar Lions face Attard from Division 3 while St. Venera Lightnings take on Mtarfa in a clash between two Third Division sides.

In the first match, Sta. Venera Lightnings take on Mtarfa. Both teams play in Section A of the BOV Third Division. The Lightnings are the current leaders with 21 points from nine matches while Mtarfa are third from bottom on six points. Sta. Venera won Group 7 which included Senglea, Swieqi and Gharghur while Mtarfa won Group 5, finishing ahead of Qrendi, Zurrieq and Marsaskala. St. Venera defeated Mtarfa 1-0 in a league match last month.

Holders Zejtun face Mgarr in the second game. After winning the Third Division championship last season, the Corinthians are currently joint-second with Rabat on 19 points. On the other hand, Mgarr lie at the bottom of Division 2 with four points from nine matches. Mgarr emerged as winners of Group 3 after finishing ahead of San Gwann, Marsa and Fgura while Zejtun won Group 2 which included Gzira United Gudja United and Santa Lucia. Zejtun defeated Mgarr 3-1 in a league match in October.

In the first match in the afternoon, Attard take on Naxxar Lions. Attard lie in a mid-table position in Section A of the BOV Third Division with 14 points from nine matches. Naxxar, on the other hand, are fourth in Division 2 on 15 points. Naxxar won Group 6 which included Kirkop, Sirens and Xghajra while Attard emerged as winners in Group 8 which included St. Patrick, Kalkara and Luqa.

The last game puts against each other Rabat Ajax and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s. The Magpies share the second place with Zejtun on 19 points while the Saints are joint-fifth on 14. In the first round, Rabat won group 1, finishing ahead of Mdina, Mellieha and Ghaxaq while Birzebbuga qualified after winning Group 4 which included Siggiewi, Zebbug Rangers and Pembroke Athleta. Earlier this month the two teams shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw in a league match.