Zejtun claim Quick-Keno Division II/III Knock-Out

Holders Zejtun Corinthians retained the Quick-Keno Division II/III Knock-Out after defeating Rabat Ajax 2-0 after extra-time.

The Corinthians therefore won the double for the second successive year after winning the BOV Second Division championship. Last season, they had won the Third Division championship.

After just one minute, a header by Jason Cachia for Zejtun was cleared off the goal line by William Borg. Rabat replied with a perfect pass by Basil Emeka Onuta for David Azzopardi whose fine shot from the left hit the upright on the 8th minute.

Oldi Majtara went close for Zejtun on 31 minutes with a cross shot from the left. A powerful drive by Joseph Caruana five minutes later ended wide. Ranier Farrugia then turned into a corner an angled shot by Adam Smeir.

The two teams shared the exchanges after the break with Zejtun going close with a cross shot by Kenneth Abela ending just over the bar on 69 minutes. On 83 minutes, Basil Emeka Onuta served Justin Felice whose powerful shot from outside the area just missed the target.

With the score still draw at the end of the ninety minutes, the match went into extra-time.

Two minutes in the second half of extra-time, Zejtun took the lead when Oldi Majtara concluded a solo effort by pulling to the left before beating goalkeeper Jonathan Azzopardi with a diagonal shot.

Rabat’s reaction consisted of an Adam Smeir freekick from the left which ended just wide on the 115th.

Two minutes later, Zejtun doubled the score when Kenneth Abela exchanged the ball with Oldi Majtara in a swift counter-attack with the former beating Azzopardi with a cute lob.

ZEJTUN Ranier Farrugia, Vince Camilleri, Edward Azzopardi, Jason Cachia, Charlo Magro, Jesmar Abela, Kenneth Abela, Silvio Sciberras (65′ Ryan Cauchi), Adrian Carabott, Oldi Majtara, Amadeo Mercieca (46′ Heathcliff Schembri).
RABAT Jonathan Azzopardi, Chris Schembri, Josef Tonna (110′ Adrian Mifsud), Joseph Caruana, Yessous Camilleri, Justin Felice, Adam Smeir, William Borg, Christian Muscat, David Azzopardi, Basil Emeka Onuta.
Referee:Andre Arciola
Asst. Referees: Philip Farrugia, Roberto Vella
Yellow Cards: J. Caruana, S. Sciberras, C. Muscat, C. Schembri, E. Azzopardi, A. Smeir, J. Cachia
Scorer: 107′ Oldi Majtara; 117′ Kenneth Abela