National squad off to Greece

National coach John Buttigieg named the eighteen man squad which will be travelling to Athens on Wednesday for next Saturday’s EURO 2012 qualifier against Greece at the Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium in Piraeus, kick-off at 20:30 CET.

There are two changes from the team which lost narrowly to the Greeks in March as Marsaxlokk defender Carlo Mamo and Valletta midfielder Jamie Pace are not part of the squad. Mamo was part of the starting line-up while Pace had been included as a substitute. On the other hand, Paul Fenech and Ivan Woods are back in squad.

From the provisional squad, the Malta coach dropped Marsaxlokk goalkeeper Reuben Gauci, Valletta defender Steve Borg, Trevor Cilia of Birkirkara, Christian Caruana of Floriana and Sliema’s John Mintoff.

The Malta ‘A’ squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Justin Haber (Ferencvaros), Andrew Hogg (Valletta);
defenders Edward Herrera (Hibs), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Andrei Agius (Birkirkara), Shaun Bajada (Birkirkara), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara);
midfielders Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Clayton Failla (Sliema), John Hutchinson (Central Coast Mariners), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Valletta), Gareth Sciberras (Marsaxlokk);
forwards Daniel Bogdanovic (Sheffield United), Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Michael Mifsud (Qormi), Andre Schembri (Ferencvaros), Ivan Woods (Floriana).