M'Xlokk survive Mosta comeback to claim first three points — Floriana beat Mqabba

Marsaxlokk survived a good comeback by newly-promoted Mosta to beat them 5-2, therefore claiming their first three points.

The Southseasiders had Patrick Borg, Jonathan Xerri, Carlos Campagnoli and Obinna Obiefule together with substitutes Sacha Borg and Jean Paul Farrugia making their debut. Mosta, on the other hand,
had new signings Glen Zammit, Luca Martinelli, Kurt Magro, Ian Zammit, Sheldon Grech and Rudi Alhinho making their first appearance.

Marsaxlokk managed to take the lead on 23 minutes when Obinna Obiefule exchanged the ball with Martin Deanov, rounded goalkeeper Glenn Zammit and placed the ball inside the empty net.

Three minutes from the end of the first half, Trevor Templeman served Martin Deanov on the right and the latter anticipated Zammit.

Two minutes in the second half, Mosta pulled one back when a powerful shot by Kurt Magro hit the crossbar with Reuben Gauci beaten and off the rebiund, Gilbert Martin headed home from close range.

On the hour, Mosta levelled matters when they were awarded a penalty after Gilbert Martin was brought down inside the penalty area. From the penalty spot, Ian Zammit made no mistake.

However on the 76th, Mosta defender Rudi Alhinho floored Malcolm Licari inside the area. Referee Mario Apap ordered another penalty and Obinna Obiefule beat Zammit to make it 3-2.

Four minutes later, Obifuele concluded a solo effort on the right flank with a cross for substitute Jean Paul Farrugia who placed the ball at the back of the net from close range.

On the 90th, Marsaxlokk sealed the issue with a fifth goal when in a swift counter-attack, Obinna Obiefule entered the penalty area, rounded Zammit and deposited the ball into the empty net.

Obinna Obiefule was voted BOV Player of the Match.

Photos: James Galea www.fotoincmalta.com

[nggallery id=258]

M’XLOKK Reuben Gauci, Carlo Mamo, Martin Deanov (87′ Sacha Borg), Carlos Campagnoli, Malcolm Licari (82′ Jean Paul Farrugia), Jonathan Xerri, Clive Brincat, Trevor Templeman, Patrick Borg, Obinna Obiefule (91′ Sunday Eboh), Florent Raimy.
Subs not used: Christian Cassar, Modesto Valeriani, Jean Claude Vella, Dylan Kokavessis.
Coach: Winston Muscat

MOSTA Glenn Zammit, Adrian Borg, Luca Martinelli (74′ Kane Farrugia), Kenneth Spiteri, Rudi Alhinho, Sheldon Grech, Kurt Magro, Jonathan Bajada, Gilbert Martin, Ian Zammit, Firas Aboulezz (46′ Alex Cini).
Subs not used: Jonathan Debono, Federico Tisbi, Quincy Bregman, Damien Delia, Kurt Zammit.
Coach: Oliver Spiteri

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Paul Apap, Joe Camilleri
Fourth Official: Clayton Pisani
Yellow Cards: Raimy, Templeman, Bajada, P. Borg, Grech, Alhinho, Magro
Scorers: 23′ Obinna Obiefule, 43′ Martin Deanov; 47′ Gilbert Martin; 60′ Ian Zammit (pen); 76′ Obinna Obiefule (pen); 81′ Jean Paul Farrugia, 90′ Obinna Obiefule

Meanwhile in the second match, Floriana beat Mqabba 2-0.

Nigerian striker Boris Odwong was making his debut for Floriana while new signings James Paris and Marko Potezica were included by Mqabba coach Clive Mizzi.
Christian Caruana put Floriana ahead after just two minutes when he beat Kris Calleja with a shot from close range.

Floriana doubled the score on 19 minutes when off a direct freekick by Christian Cassar, the ball was not retained by goalkeeper Calleja, ending at the back of the net.

Christian Caruana was voted BOV Player of the Match.

Photos: James Galea www.fotoincmalta.com

[nggallery id=257]

FLORIANA Manuel Bartolo, Owen Bugeja, John Mintoff (63′ Joseph Borg), Pablo Doffo, Manolito Micallef, Christian Caruana, Boris Odwong, Ivan Woods, Duncan Pisani, Tyrone Farrugia, Christian Cassar (76′ Clyde Borg).
Subs not used: Jurgen Borg, Thomas Paris, Andrew Spiteri, Ryan Darmanin, Luke Agius.

MQABBA Kris Calleja, Pierre Grima, Marko Potezica, Andrew Scicluna, Mark Anthony Psaila (46′ Clayton Micallef), Marlon Briffa (52′ Shawn Magro), David Azzopardi, Thiago Mazzittelli, Claudio Calleja, Mauro Bonnici, James Paris (68′ John Paul Muscat).
Subs not used: Franklin Azzopardi, Ryan Sammut, Omar Farrugia, Rene Duca.

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Thomas Debono, Duncan Sultana
Fourth Official: Chris Lautier
Yellow Cards: Psaila, Caruana, Paris, Scicluna
Scorers: 2′ Christian Caruana; 19′ Christian Cassar