Second win for Birkirkara, Floriana

Birkirkara registered their second win in as many matches as they defeated newly-promoted Mosta 3-1.

The Stripes were clearly a better side right from the start and although they had a player sent off early in the second half, they still remained comfortably in control.

For Mosta, this was the second defeat. They had four foreign players making their debut – Roberto Rivelino Petriaggi, Diego Maradona Petriaggi, Bertrand Michel Maki Mvondo and Federico Tisbi while Nikola Bogdanovic was back after missing the first league game.

Birkirkara took the lead on the 10th minute when off a corner by Leighton Grech, Alan Tabone’s cross was well-met by Moises Avila Perez who placed the ball at the back of the net from close range.

Two minutes from the end of the first half, the Stripes doubled the score with Trevor Cilia serving Moises Avila Perez who slotted the ball home past Jonathan Debono.

Eleven minutes in the second half, Birkirkara were reduced to ten men after Andrew Decesare picked a second yellow card.

However on 62 minutes, Trevor Cilia managed to beat Jonathan Debono direct from a corner to make it 3-0.

Six minutes from time, Mosta pulled one back when Ian Zammit headed the ball into the direction of Gilbert Martin but the latter was anticipated by Angus Buhagiar who placed the ball at the back of the net for an own goal.

Trevor Cilia was voted BOV Player of the Match.

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=263]

MOSTA Jonathan Debono, Adrian Borg, Kane Farrugia, Luca Martinelli, Kenneth Spiteri (70’ Federico Tisbi), Nikola Bogdanovic, Kurt Magro (66’ Jonathan Bajada), Roberto Rivelino Petriaggi, Ian Zammit, Diego Maradona Petriaggi (46’ Gilbert Martin), Bertrand Michel Maki Mvondo.
Subs not used: Glenn Zammit, Bryan Agius, Alex Cini, Firas Aboulezz.
Coach: Oliver Spiteri
Assistant Coach: Ramon Zammit

B’KARA Jorge Mora, Rodrigo Pereira, Gareth Sciberras, Trevor Cilia, Alan Tabone (58’ Paul Fenech), Andrew Decesare, Moises Avila Perez, Leighton Grech (87’ Terence Vella), Joseph Zerafa (81’ Ryan Camenzuli), Angus Buhagiar, Rowen Muscat.
Subs not used: Karl Magri, Ryan Scicluna, Matthew Bugeja, Alden Galea.
Coach: Patrick Curmi
Assistant Coach: Peter Pullicino

Referee: Marco Borg
Assistant referees: Edward Spiteri, Alex Grech
Fourth official: Andre Arciola
Yellow Cards: Decesare, Avila, Martinelli, Tisbi, Zerafa, Martin
Red Cards: 56’ Andrew Decesare
Scorers: 10’ Moises Avila Perez, 43’ Moises Avila Perez, 62’ Trevor Cilia, 84’ own goal Angus Buhagiar

After defeating Mqabba in their first outing, Floriana registered their second win, beating Tarxien Rainbows 2-1.

The Greens managed to take the lead on 18 minutes when Everton Pereira deflected the ball past goalkeeper David Cassar for an own goal following a Christian Cassar freekick.

Three minutes later, Boris Odwong went close to doubling the score with a powerful drive from just outside the area. However David Cassar performed a good save turning the ball into a corner.

On 23 minutes, Tarxien levelled matters when Daniel Mariano Bueno was brought down inside the area. Referee Malcolm Spiteri ordered a penalty and from the penalty spot, Bueno made no mistake.

Floriana regained the lead seven minutes in the second half when Boris Odwong, served by Ivan Woods, managed to beat David Cassar with a low shot from just inside the area.

The Greens went close once again on 65 minutes when off a cross by Woods from the left, Odwong served Christian Cassar whose scissor-kick just missed the target. On the other side of the pitch, Bueno tried his luck with a shot from outside the area but Bartolo neutralised his attempt on 74 minutes. A minute later, a cross shot from the right by Grioli scraped past the post.

In added time, Stefan Giglio went close to equalising with a fine scissors-kick but Manuel Bartolo performed a good save to enable Floriana tao take home the three points.

Christian Cassar was voted BOV Player of the Match.

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=264]

TARXIEN David Cassar, Carl Sammut, Everton Antonio Pereira (82’ Caio Garcia Suguino), Stefan Giglio, Adrian Carabott, Ricardo Costa, Rodrigo Andreis Galvao (68’ Roberto Fagundes Saraiva), Daniel Mariano Bueno, Orosco Anonam (60’ Luke Vella Critien), Lee Galea, Justin Grioli.
Subs not used: Nicky Vella, Steve Sadowski, Manuel Caruana, Julian Vella.
Coach: Noel Coleiro
Assistant Coach: Michael Church

FLORIANA Manuel Bartolo, Manolito Micallef, Ducnan Pisani, Tyrone Farrugia, Owen Bugeja, Thomas Paris (69’ Clyde Borg), Pablo Doffo, Christian Cassar (77’ Joseph Okonkwo), John Mintoff, Ivan Woods, Boris Odwong.
Subs not used: William Amamoo, Andrew Spiteri, Luke Agius, Brooke Farrugia.
Coach: Michael Woods
Assistant Coach: Frank Schembri

Referee: Malcolm Spiteri
Assistant referees: Konrad Borg, Chris Francalanza
Fourth official: Paul Caruana
Yellow Cards: Grioli, Doffo, Sammut
Scorers: 18’ own goal; 23’ Daniel Mariano Bueno, 52’ Boris Odwong
Attendance: 1,155