UAE win Malta International Futsal Tournament

The United Arab Emirates won the fourth edition of the Malta International Futsal Tournament which was held at the Corradino Pavilion after defeating Malta 8-2 on Wednesday.

UAE managed to take a five-goal lead by the end of the first half thanks to goals by Omar Salmeen (2′, 3′ and 18′), Abdulkareem Jameel (15′) and Mohammed Abdalla (15′).

Ibrahim Bader increased the lead on 22 minutes but Dean Gera reduced the gap on 29 minutes. Omar Salmeen scored a seventh goal on 34 minutes and three minutes later, George Frendo scored Malta’s second goal. Bader sealed the issue with an eighth goal two minutes from time.

MALTA: Matthew Mifsud, Dean Gera, John Cutajar, Mohammed Tarik, David Smith, George Frendo, Melvin Borg, Clint Cope, Kurt Bartolo, Cedric Sciberras, Cain Agius, Chris Brincat, Carlos Scicluna.

UAE ended their commitments with five points, followed by Switzerland and Greece on four and Malta three.

Photo: Copyright © domenic aquilina/MFA