Twenty players shortlisted for final EURO 2012 qualifier

National coach John Buttigieg named a twenty-man squad ahead of next Tuesday’s EURO 2012 qualifier against Israel at the National Stadium, kick-off at 19:00.

With Clayton Failla and Andrew Cohen both ruled out as they served a one-match ban, Buttigieg included in the squad Valletta duo Jonathan Caruana and Michael Mifsud who missed the Latvia trip as they were recovering from injuries. Sliema Wanderers defender Alex Muscat and Floriana striker Christian Caruana also made it to the Malta squad.

The players selected by Buttigieg are:
goalkeepers Andrew Hogg (Valletta), Justin Haber (Kerkyra – GRE);
defenders Andrei Agius (Latina – ITA), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Steve Borg (Valletta), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Edward Herrera (Hibs), Carlo Mamo (Marsaxlokk), Alex Muscat (Sliema), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara);
midfielders Trevor Cilia (Birkirkara), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Valletta), John Hutchinson (Chengdu Blades – CHI), Jamie Pace (Valletta), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara);
forwards Christian Caruana (Floriana), Michael Mifsud (Valletta), Andre Schembri (Panionios – GRE), Ivan Woods (Floriana).

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar