Third defeat for Under-17 side in mini-tournament

Malta lost 3-0 to hosts Montenegro in the third and final match from Group 11 of the UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying round mini-tournament at the ‘Training Camp’ in Podgorica on Monday. The team led by Branko Nisevic ended its commitments at the bottom without any points.

Early goals by Koca Krstovic and Boris Cmiljanic on 12 and 13 minutes paved the way for the former Yugoslav republic and Lazar Lalosevic sealed the issue with a third goal one minute from time.

Spain won the group with maximum points from three matches, followed by Poland on six and Montenegro on three.

MALTA Luke Pecorella, Matthew Bonello, Dion Fava, Joe Reno Vella, Fabio Muscat (25′ Omar Farrugia), Kurt Zammit (41′ Kyle Cesare), Godwin Mckay, Ryan Spiteri, Llywelyn Cremona, Paolo Dandolo, Luke Montebello (76′ Rodney Refalo).