UEFA confirms Malta will be represented by four clubs in European competitions

UEFA confirmed Malta will be represented by four clubs in the European competitions for season 2012/13. The champions will be representing Malta in the UEFA Champions League while three clubs will represent Malta in the UEFA Europa League. This is possible after Malta climbed from 52nd to 48th in the UEFA Country Ranking.

For the past two years, just two teams represented Malta in the Europa League.

Meanwhile the solidarity payments by UEFA for participation in European competitions were also confirmed.

Champions Valletta who took part in the first two qualifying rounds of the UEFA Champions League will be receiving a total of €460,000 (€200,000 plus €130,000 for each round).

Birkirkara and Floriana, who took part in the UEFA Europa League, will receive €90,000 each.