Youth FA holds Annual General Meeting

Friday 22nd June brought to an end the 2011-2012 season for the Youth Football Association with the Annual General Meeting which was held at the Centenary Hall, Ta’ Qali.

In his introduction, Youth FA president Fr. Hilary Tagliaferro praised the fact that the Youth FA was moving forward and introducing new concepts such as the Under-13 In?obb il-Futbol Events, which defeated the critics and was a complete success, also enabling 360 more children to practice football.

Fr. Hilary also acclaimed the courses organised in collaboration with KMS, as well as the new ground insepctors’ and medical services, which provided a much more professional service this season and the guidlines published by the Technical Centre, which enable uniformity all over the nurseries.

Fr.Hilary thanked APS Bank, who signed a new sponsorship agreement for another three seasons, a sign of mutual respect, after having already sponsored the Youth FA Competitions for the last 10 years. The YFA President revealed that the Association was looking into the possibility of integrating young refugees to participate in its competitions.

He concluded his speech by thanking the Malta Football Association, the Technical Centre, KMS, APS, Farsons, Panini, the Ministry of Finance, the Economy and Investment, the Parliamentary Secretariat for Youth and Sports as well as all the Officials and Council Memebers for the assistance during the season.

The Youth FA General Secretary, Joe Micallef gave a detailed presentation on the past season where over 1150 matches were administered by the Assocaition, between Under-15 and Under-17 leagues, Under-13 In?obb il-Futbol Event, Under-13, Under-11 and the Under-9 Football Festivals.

Mr. Micallef reminded that the Youth FA was moving along with the times and that the new website ( had attracted over 300,000 hits in over a year and that now the Association was looking to the social media to keep in close contact with its members.

The General Secretary then announced the winner of the Most Promising Youngsters, Under-15 Juan Corbolan (Floriana) and Under-17 Ryan Spiteri (Hamrun S.)

After the Financial Report, read by the Hon. Treasurer, Mr. Alfred Cacciotolo, it was revealed that none of the present Youth FA Officials had been contested and so they will continue to serve for the next two seasons: Fr. Hilary Tagliaferro (President), Joe Cassar (Vice President), Robert Attard (Vice President), Joe Micallef (General Secretary) and Alfred Cacciotolo (Hon. Treasurer).

The five Council Members representing the nurseries for next season will be: Godwin Aquilina (Sta.Venera), Mark Bondin (Mqabba), Joe Camilleri (Gozo), Charles Cassar (Rabat Ajax) and Mario De Battista (Luxol St. Andrews).

The neutral members will be chosen by the Youth FA President, and will be announced after the first Bureau meeting, expected later this month.

Photo: Copyright ©