Draws for UEFA Women's Champions League held in Nyon

Birkirkara will be hosting Group 3 of the UEFA Women’s Champions League, facing SU 1° Dezembro of Portugal, Olimpia Cluj-Napoca of Romania and Glentoran Belfast United of Northern Ireland. The draws were held at the UEFA Headquarters in Nyon on Thursday.

There will be 54 teams from 46 countries in the running for the 2012/13 UEFA Women’s Champions League and 32 of them were involved in the qualifying round draw.

Eight groups of four teams were formed by the draw, and the mini-tournaments will be played from 11 to 16 August with the winners and two best runners-up progressing to the round of 32 to join the 22 clubs given byes.

Birkirkara had already met 1° Dezembro in 2009 with the latter side winning 10-0.

Qualifying round draw

Group 1: FC Zürich Frauen (SUI), Gintra Universitetas (LTU), WFC Pomurje (SVN)*, Ata?ehir Belediyespor (TUR)

Group 2: FC NSA (BUL), BIIK (KAZ), ŽFK Spartak (SRB)*, Pärnu Jalgpalliklubi (EST)

Group 3: SU 1 ° Dezembro (POR), Olimpia Cluj-Napoca (ROU), Glentoran Belfast United (NIR), Birkirkara FC (MLT)*

Group 4: RTP Unia Racibórz (POL), FC Bobruchanka (BLR), ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)*, Ekonomist (MNE)

Group 5: WFC SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)*, ASA Tel-Aviv FC (ISR), Peamount United (IRL), Cardiff Met LAFC (WAL)

Group 6: Apollon LFC (CYP)*, WFC Kharkiv (UKR), KÍ Klaksvík (FRO), Ada Velipoje (ALB)

Group 7: FC PAOK (GRE), MTK Hungária FC (HUN), ZNK Nase Taksi-SNT 2010 (MKD)*, SKONTO FK (LVA)

Group 8: Glasgow City LFC (SCO), PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)*, WFC Osijek (CRO), FC Noroc Nimoreni (MDA)