U*BET FA Trophy: Nadur Youngsters eliminate Marsaxlokk — Another two Gozitan teams reach third round

Gozitans Nadur Youngsters reached the third round of the U*BET FA Trophy after eliminating First Division side Marsaxlokk, beating them 1-0 in one of the nine second round matches in programme on Sunday.

Another Gozitan side, SK Victoria Wanderers defeated Second Division side Mgarr United 2-1 while Senglea Athletic defeated Kercem Ajax on penalties following a 1-1 draw at the end of extra-time.

Naxxar Lions defeated Dingli Swallows 4-1 in a clash between two teams from the First Division.

Gozitans Sannat Lions registered an impressive 6-1 win over Third Division side Swieqi United while Second Division sides Pembroke Athleta and St. Venera Lightnings registered two identical 3-2 wins over Gozitans Xewkija Tigers and Xaghra United 3-2 respectively.

First Division side Pietà Hotspurs beat St. George’s from Division 2 1-0 while Gharghur from Division 2 defeated Mtarfa from the Third Division 4-1.

The twenty teams who reach the third round are therefore First Division sides Mqabba, Naxxar Lions, Gudja United, Lija Athletic, Gzira United, St. Andrews, Pietà Hotspurs and Zejtun Corinthians; Second Division sides Zebbug Rangers, Msida St. Joseph, Gharghur, Zurrieq, Pembroke Athleta, St. Patrick and St. Venera Lightnings; Third Division sides Marsaskala and Senglea Athletic and Gozitans Sannat Lions, SK Victoria Wanderers and Nadur Youngsters.