More new faces in provisional national squad

National coach Pietro Ghedin included five uncapped players in the provisional squad for next Wednesday’s international friendly match against Liechtenstein at the Rheinpark Stadion in Vaduz.

Tarxien Rainbows defender Justin Grioli receives the first-ever senior national team call-up while Mosta defender Alex Cini, Rowen Muscat of Birkirkara, Julian Galea of Melita and Hamrun Spartans striker Terence Vella are the other uncapped players.

Cini and Galea were first named in the squad by Ghedin in summer while Terence Vella was included in the final squad for the last game against the Czech Republic. On the other hand, Rowen Muscat was part of the squad for the friendly match against Liechtenstein earlier this year.

Bjorn Kristensen, who earned his first international cap during that friendly match which Malta won 2-1 under the guidance of Technical Director Robert Gatt, is also back in squad.

Clayton Failla makes his return after serving a three-month ban but captian Michael Mifsud is not part of the squad.

The squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Henry Bonello (Sliema), Justin Haber (Mosta), Andrew Hogg (Enosis Neon Paralimini);
defender Andrei Agius (Latina), Steve Borg (Valletta), Ryan Camilleri (Hibs), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Alex Cini (Mosta), Luke Dimech (Mosta), Clayton Failla (Hibs), Justin Grioli (Tarxien), Edward Herrera (Birkirkara), Alex Muscat (Sliema), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara);
midfielders Ayrton Azzopardi (Hibs), Shaun Bajada (Valetta), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Hibs), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibs), John Mintoff (Sliema), Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara);
forward Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Julian Galea (Melita), Andre Schembri (Melita), Andre Schembri (Omonia Nicosia), Terence Vella (Hamrun).

Photo: Copyright ©