Valletta hit six past Hamrun — Rabat, Floriana ends in 1-1 draw

After beating them 8-2 in the first round, Valletta found no difficulty in disposing of Hamrun Spartans, beating them 6-0.

For the Spartans this was the tenth defeat in eleven matches although they are still third from bottom.

Photos: Copyright ©

Roderick Briffa, Steve Borg and Denni Rocha dos Santos were missing for the Citizens who had Daniel Bogdanovic making his league debut. On the other hand, Emiliano Lattes was making his first appearance for Hamrun Spartans who lacked Gianluca Calabretta who joined Tarxien Rainbows.

Valletta forged ahead after just two minutes when off a freekick by William Barbosa, a defender cleared the ball of the rebound and Demba Toure’s conclusion was deflected by a defender to end at the back of the net.

The Citizens doubled the score on 23 minutes when off a William Barbosa freekick, Michael Mifsud controlled the ball before hitting low past Andrea Cassar.

Ten minutes later, Valletta scored the third goal when off a Michael Mifsud corner, Demba Toure’s header was partially saved by Andrea Cassar and off the rebound, Jason Vandelannoite placed the ball at the back of the net.

Michael Mifsud made it 4-0 just before half-time with a powerful drive which gave goalkeeper Andrea Cassar no chance.

Ten minutes in the second half, Luke Dimech scored Valletta’s fifth goal, heading the ball home off a Michael Mifsud corner from the right.

With a flying header off a cross by Jason Vandelannoite cross from the right, Demba Toure made it 6-0 for the Spartans on 69 minutes.

Two minutes later, Loic Lumbilla went close to scoring a consolation goal for Hamrun with a powerful drive which ended just wide. Finally one minute from time, Terence Vella concluded a good run on the right with a good shot which hit the foot of the upright.

Michael Mifsud was voted BOV Player of the Match.

VALLETTA Yenz Cini, Jonathan Caruana (59’ Dyson Falzon), Luke Dimech, Ian Azzopardi, Jason Lee Vandelannoite, William Barbosa, Ryan Fenech (59’ Edmond Agius), Joao Gabriel da Silva (72’ Joseph JoJo Ogonuppe), Demba Toure, Daniel Bogdanovic, Michael Mifsud.
Subs not used: Manuel Bartolo, Gilbert Agius, Llywelyn Cremona, Isaac Zammit.
Coach: Mark Miller

HAMRUN Andrea Cassar, Roderick Fenech, Emiliano Lattes, Adrian Borg, Glenn Azzopardi, Ryan Spiteri (46’ Ayrton Micallef), Terence Vella, Bledjon Guga (65’ Daniel Zerafa), Loic Lumbilla Kandja (74’ Luke Grech), Massimo Grima, David Camilleri.
Subs not used: Anthony Curmi, Melvin Busuttil, Dylan Busuttil, Gianluca Debattista.
Coach: Stefan Sultana

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Albert Borg Cardona
Fourth Official: Chris Lautier
Yellow Cards: none
Scorers: 2’ Demba Toure, 23’ Michael Mifsud, 33’ Jason Vandelannoite, 45’ Michael Mifsud, 55’ Luke Dimech, 69’ Demba Toure
Attendance: 679

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=455]
Floriana managed to earn a point in a draw with Rabat Ajax despite having to play for almost all of the second half in ten men.

The Magpies therefore failed to register their first win in the BOV Premier League.

With Clive Brincat, Chris Schembri, Adam Smeir and Ryan Micallef all ruled out injured, Malcolm Licari made his debut for Rabat when he was included as a substitute but abandoned the pitch injured a few minutes later. The Greens, on the other hand, were managed by Gary Howard following the resignation of Stephen Azzopardi.

Floriana took the lead on the 19th minute thanks to Igor Coronado who received the ball on the right, hitting low past goalkeeper Sean Mintoff.

On the 27th minute, the Greens went close once again with a first-time effort by Gary Roberts ending just over the bar. Rabat replied with a good pass by Diego Carrillo Pendas for Manuel Moral Fuster who hit high from outside the area on 33 minutes. Three minutes later, Diego Carrillo concluded high from the edge of the area.

Mintoff performed a good save on Trevor Cilia following a cross from the right by Coronado three minutes from the end of the first half. Just before half-time, Jose Luis Armario Negrin headed just wide off a cross by David Azzopardi from the left.

The Magpies were awarded a penalty two minutes in the second half after Kane Farrugia handled the ball following a shot by Malcolm Spiteri. Referee Adrian Azzopardi sent Farrugia off and from the penalty spot, Jose Luis Armario Negrin converted.

Rabat gained confidence and Diego Carrillo had a powerful shot from the right turned into a corner by Tony Warner on 54 minutes.

Jose Luis Armario Negrin missed a good opportunity on 66 minutes when he advanced alone into the area after avoiding the offside trap but hit low shot was partially saved by Warner. In a swift counter-attack for Rabat, David Azzopardi sent Diego Carrillo through and the Spanish striker rounded a defender before having a shot from close range blocked by the Floriana goalkeeper into a corner.

On the other side of the pitch, a header by Francesco Guzman was cleared off the goal line by Gaetano Gesualdi and on the 73rd minute, a shot from outside the area by Igor Coronado was parried by Sean Mintoff.

Finally, Tony Warner blocked another close-range effort by Armario Negrin on 88 minutes.

Tony Warner was voted BOV Player of the Match.

RABAT Sean Mintoff, Gaetano Gesualdi, Ivan Carapic, Joseph Caruana, Justin Felice, Jose Luis Armario Negrin, Manuel Moral Fuster, Dylan Falzon (46’ Malcolm Licari) (77’ Yan Cauchi), Diego Carrillo Pendas, David Azzopardi, Clifford Gauci.
Subs not used: Jonathan Azzopardi, Neil Caruana, Kurt Muscat, Patrick Borg, Shaun Gauci.
Coach: Silvio Vella
Asst. Coach: Joe Galea

FLORIANA Tony Warner, Joseph Borg (87’ Luca Casha), Owen Bugeja, Kane Farrugia, Carl Tremarco, Clyde Borg, Brooke Farrugia, Gary Roberts, Mark Spiteri (50’ Francesco Guzman), Trevor Cilia, Igor Coronado.
Subs not used: Jonathan Debono, Luke Scorfna, Isaac Galea, Leo Muscat, Thomas Paris.
Asst. Coach: Gary Howard

Referee: Adrian Azzopardi
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Roberto Vella
Fourth Official: Kevin Azzopardi
Yellow Cards: J. Caruana, O. Bugeja, C. Tremarco
Scorers: 19′ Igor Coronado (F); 47′ Jose Luis Armario Negrin pen (R)