BOV Division 1: Naxxar Lions champions

Naxxar-Lions-First-Champions2013Naxxar Lions were declared champions in the BOV First Division after defeating Vittoriosa Stars 2-1 in a championship decider.

The two teams ended their commitments on level points and therefore a decider was necessary to determine the champions.

Following a goalless first half, Lydon Micallef put Vittoriosa ahead. However Daren Falzon levelled matters for Naxxar and Anthony Ewurum turned the score in their favour.

Naxxar Lions and Vittoriosa Stars will be playing in the Premier League next season while Dingli Swallows and Mqabba were relegated to Division 2. Next season, the BOV First Division will be contested by fourteen clubs.

Photos courtesy of Bank of Valletta