Stoppage-time goal hands Birkirkara girls the championship

women-bkara-champions-bov-130508A goal by Isabelle Mazzitelli deep into stoppage time enabled Birkirkara to claim a second consecutive BOV Women’s First Division League championship as they defeated Mosta 1-0 at the Charles Abela Stadium.

As the two teams shared the top spot, a draw between the two teams would have forced a decider and in fact the game seemed heading for a tie before the Stripes notched the winner on the 93rd minute when a Kim Parnis freekick found Mazzitelli alone in front of goalkeeper Sharon Costantino, hitting home.

After the game, MFA Deputy General Secretary (Grassroots, Youth Development & Education) Maria Mifsud presented the cup to Birkirkara captain Rachel Cuschieri.

MOSTA Sharon Costantino, Rebecca D’Agostino, Natasha Pace, Karen Lia, Oriana Bedingfield, Shona Zammit, Dorianne Theuma, Rachel Nolan, Nicole Buttigieg, Jade Flask, AnnMarie Muscat.
Coach: Kenneth Costantino
B’KARA Janice Xuereb, Yasmeen Vella, Kirstie Vella (Alexia Scicluna 53’), Kim Parnis, Gabriella Zahra, Alishia Sultana, Rachel Cuschieri, Charlene Schembri (Raina Giusti 35’), Kelly Groves, Simone Buttigieg, Isabelle Mazzitelli.
Coach: Keith Gouder
Referee: Sandro Spiteri
Scorer: Isabelle Mazzitelli 93’

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=475]

Photos below courtesy of Bank of Valletta

[nggallery id=476]

Hibernians found no difficulty in beating Gozo 6-2 at the Sirens Stadium to end the season on a positive note.

Nicole Borg put them ahead on 21 minutes but on the half-hour, Tracy Theuma levelled matters. Just before half-time, Ylenia Carabott restored the lead. Charlene Zammit made it 3-1 on 57 minutes and eight minutes later, Ruth Steer Chetham scored the fourth goal. Ylenia Carabott added another two goals before Tracy Theuma reduced the gap for the Gozitans.

The three goals by Ylenia Carabott strenghtened her position as top scorer with 42 goals.

HIBS Keoney Demicoli, Claire Sciberras, Rosalie Cauchi (Gaby Tonna 63’), Marieclaire Aquilina, Sherianne Zammit, Dionne Tonna, Ylenia Carabott (Michaela Camilleri 75’), Francesca Chircop, Ruth Steer Chetham, Nicole Borg.
Coach: Jose Borg
GOZO Fabiann Vella, Ann-Marie Said, Rita Azzopardi, Tracy Teuma, Rebecca Bajada, Felicienne Mercieca, Michelle Pace (Samantha Vella 80’), Emma Xuereb, Julia Vella, Joselene Gafa (Stephanie Debono 55’), Melania Bajada.
Coach: Melania Bajada
Referee: Keith Buhagiar
Scorers: Ylenia Carabott 45’ 69’ 72’, Nicole Borg 21’, Charlene Zammit 57’, Ruth Steer Cheetman 65’ (H), Tracy Teuma 30’ 75’ (G)

Mgarr United finished on top in the Relegation Pool thanks to a 9-0 win over Hamrun Spartans at the Luxol Stadium.

Claudette Xuereb put Mgarr ahead on 13 minutes and six minutes later, Daniela Ebejer doubled the score. Ebejer scored a third goal on the half-hour and Xuereb made it 4-0 on 34 minutes. Two goals by Alice Stanton early in the second half put Mgarr six goals ahead. Antoinette Sammut made it 7-0 on the 58th before Claudette Xuereb and Lee Anne Wood added another two goals on 75 and 85 minutes.

Pembroke Athleta defeated Tarxien Rainbows 7-1 at the Pembroke Ground.

Sarah Caruana put Pembroke ahead after just one minute and Thresa Scicluna doubled the score on the 23rd. Pembroke made it 3-0 seven minutes from the end of the first half as Sarah Caruana converted a penalty.

Kim Magro pulled one back on the 70th but in the final fifteen minutes, Pembroke added another four goals thanks to Sarah Caruana (75 and 89) and Thresa Scicluna (81 and 82).

PEMBROKE RoseMarie Baldacchino, Sarah Cassar Dymond (Nicole Vermeulen 63’), Sarah Caruana, Monique Sultana, Cassandra Camilleri, Ilenia Navarro, Amber Grech, Annabelle Rapa, Martina Borg (Darya Attard 63’), Ottilia Debattista (Denyse Scerri 56’), Thresa Scicluna.
Coach: Rikky Pace.
TARXIEN Dorienne Grech, Leah Marie Pisani (Kellyanne Coleiro 78’), Elise Abela Michelle Camilleri 70’), Antoinette Vella (Joanne Chetcuti 46’), Kristine Camilleri, Chantel Spiteri (Diane Bonello 66’), Lisa Senecal, Kim Magro, Francesca Cauchi, Cheryl Cachia (Amy Plumpton 46’), Janice Zahra.
Coach: Anthony Borg.
Referee: Ishmael Barbara
Scorers: Sarah Caruana 1’ 38’(pen) 75’ 89’, Thresa Scicluna 23’ 81’ 82’ (P), Kim Magro 70’ (T)