UEFA Women's Champions League: Tough draw for Birkirkara

women-champions-leagueBirkirkara are in for a difficult UEFA Women’s Champions League qualifying round mini-tournament after being drawn with Scottish side Glasgow City LFC, Dutch champions FC Twente and WFC Osijek of Croatia. The mini-tournament will be played in Holland.

In all, 32 teams will start the competition in the qualifying round and they were split into eight groups of four, to be played between 8 and 13 August.

The highest-ranked side in the qualifying round, Glasgow City LFC, had defeated Mosta 8-0 in 2011. Twente, on the other hand, won the inaugural Dutch-Belgian BeNe League. The other team in the group is with experienced WFC Osijek of Croatia.

The eight qualifying group winners, plus the two runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section, procede to the draw for the round of 32 on 5 September alongside the 22 clubs entering at that stage, including holders VfL Wolfsburg.

Group 1: WFC SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)*, FC NSA Sofia (BUL), Cardiff City FC (WAL), Konak Belediyesi GSK (TUR)

Group 2: Olimpia Cluj-Napoca (ROU)*, ŽFK Spartak (SRB), Gintra Universitetas (LTU), SK Liepājas Metalurgs (LVA)

Group 3: MTK Hungária FC (HUN), WFC Kharkiv (UKR), Raheny United FC (IRL), Crusaders Strikers WFC (NIR)*

Group 4: FC Zürich Frauen (SUI), KÍ Klaksvík (FRO), Clube Atlético Ouriense (POR)*, WFC Ekonomist (MNE)

Group 5: RTP Unia Racibórz (POL), FC Bobruchanka (BLR), WFC Pomurje (SVN)*, Ada Velipoje (ALB)

Group 6: FC PAOK (GRE), PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)*, Pärnu Jalgpalliklubi (EST), ŽFK Bilјanini Izvori 2010 (MKD)

Group 7: Apollon Limassol LFC (CYP)*, ASA Tel-Aviv FC (ISR), FC Union Nové Zámky (SVK), CS Goiador-SS 11-Real (MDA)

Group 8: Glasgow City LFC (SCO), FC Twente (NED)*, WFC Osijek (CRO), Birkirkara FC (MLT)