Late Ian Zammit penalty sees Valletta through on 4-0 aggregate

Valletta FCValletta reached the second qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League and hence setting up a clash with FC Minsk of Belarus after a 1-0 win over SP La Fiorita in the second leg of the first qualifying round for an aggregate score of 3-0.

The Citizens held the initiative throughout then ninety minutes but it was only one minute from time that they managed to pierce the Sammarinese rear-guard thanks to a penalty by Ian Zammit.

It was Denni – scorer of two goals in the first leg – that had the first attempt at goal on the 14th minute parried by the goalkeeper. Four minutes later, the Brazilian striker received a through-pass, controlled the ball well but his attempt ended a little bit wide. A Hamza Barry rising shot from outside the area on the 24th minute ended high.

Seven minutes from the end of the first half, Montanaro blocked a good header by Llywelyn Cremona following a cross from the left by Dyson Falzon. Two minutes in added time a Shaun Bajada effort from outside the area ended over the bar.

La Fiorita had the first attempt at goal two minutes in the second half with a cross shot by Nicola Cavalli blocked easily by Marino. A minute later, Shaun Bajada had a low central shot neutralised by the La Fiorita goalkeeper. Attempts b Ryan Fenech and Roderick Briffa then ended off target. A first-time effort by Cavalli ended just over the bar on 76 minutes.

One minute from time, Valletta managed to break thendeadlock when Ian Zammit was brought down inside the area by Bollini, the referee ordered a penalty and Zammit converted with a low powerful shot on the left.

VALLETTA Pietro Marino Pietro [59’ Yenz Cini], Ian Azzopardi, Roderick Briffa, Luke Dimech, Denni Rocha dos Santos, Dyson Falzon (57′ Ian Zammit), Ryan Fenech, Hamza Barry, Jason Vandelannoite, Shaun Bajada, Llywelyn Cremona (70′ Edmond. Agius).
LA FIORITA Simone Montanari, Simone Confalone, Francesco Ceci (91′ Maurizio Pedrelli), Alberto Mazzola, Nicola Cavalli (83′ Alessandro Guidi), Gian Luca Bollini, Marco Piccioni, Danilo Rinaldi, (70′ Franklin Silva Bahiano), Federico Rinaldi, Samuele Sorbera, Andy Selva.
Referee: Bryn Markham Jones (WAL)
Assistant Referees: Philip Thomas, Edward King(WAL)
Fourth Official: Huw Jones(WAL)
Yellow Cards: Bajada, F. Rinaldi, Confalone, Vandelannoite, Ceci, Agius, Bollini