AME Cup gets underway

ame-cup-launch-2013The second edition of the AME Cup kicked-off on Saturday with the first two matches from Group A at the Sirens Stadium.

In the first match, Balzan defeated Naxxar Lions 5-3 on penalties following a 3-3 draw at the end of the ninety minutes.

Naxxar went two goals ahead within the first five minutes thanks to Evaldo Silva dos Santos on the 4th minute and Andrew Decesare a minute later. Lydon Micallef pulled one back for Balzan on the 13th but three minutes later, Terence Scerri made it 3-1 for the Lions.

Four minutes in the second half, Kai Risholt reduced the gap for Balzan and five minutes later, Firas Aboulezz five minutes later notched the equaliser.

In the penalty shoot-out, Pablo Doffo, Jurgen Debono and Thiago Lopez de Souza scored for Naxxar with Gilbert Camilleri missing the first penalty. Fabio Vignaroli, Aaron Agius, Erjon Beu, Lydon Micallef and Jose Luis Armario Negrin scored the five penalties for Balzan.

In the second match, a goal by Christian Fernandez ten minutes from time gave Mosta a narrow win over Tarxien Rainbows.

More matches from Group A will be played on Wednesday 24 as Naxxar Lions take on Mosta in the first game at 18:30 and Tarxien Rainbows face Balzan at 20:30.

Group B kicks-off on Monday 22 with the first two matches. Floriana face Vittoriosa Stars in the first game at 18:30 with the second game between Rabat Ajax and Qormi being played at 20:30.

Photo: Copyright © Joe Borg

Monday 22nd July – Group B
18:30 Floriana vs Vittoriosa S.
20:30 Rabat A. vs Qormi

Wednesday 24th July – Group A
18:30 Naxxar L. vs Mosta
20:30 Tarxien R. vs Balzan

Friday 26th July – Group B
18:30 Floriana vs Rabat A.
20:30 Qormi vs Vittoriosa S.

Saturday 27th July – Group A
18:30 Balzan vs Mosta
20:30 Naxxar L. vs Tarxien R.

Monday 29th July – Group B
18:30 Vittoriosa S. vs Rabat A.
20:30 Floriana vs Qormi

Thursday 1st August – Semi-Finals
18:30 Winner Group A vs Runner-Up Group B
20:30 Winner Group B vs Runner-Up Group A

Sunday 4th August – Finals
18:30 Final 3rd/4th Place
20:30 Final

All matches will be played at the Sirens Stadium