BOV Division 2: San Gwann win top-of-the-table clash

bov-second-division-2013-2014San Gwann take sole leadership in the BOV Second Division thanks to a 3-2 win over Zabbar St. Patrick in a top-of-the-table clash. A win which puts San Gwann on the 11-point mark, one ahead of Zabbar and two ahead of Gharghur and Pembroke who were both held in draws.

Bruno Ferraz do Amaral put San Gwann ahead on 29 minutes but six minutes later, Ayres Cerqueira Simao converted a penalty to level matters. Just before half-time, Peter Xuereb made it 2-1 for San Gwann. Zabbar restored equilibrium with a goal by Dillon Pace on 73 minutes but three minutes later, Kurt Zahra converted a penalty for San Gwann to hand them the three points and the leadership.

Gharghur were held in a goalless draw by Senglea Athletic while Pembroke Athleta were held in a 2-2 draw by Mqabba. Mauro Grioli put Athleta ahead on 11 minutes but goals by Ryan Schembri on the 32nd and Didier Tayou on the 36th gave Mqabba the lead. However Jean Claude Borg notched the equaliser two minutes in added time.

Kirkop United and Fgura United shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw. Joseph Okonkwo put Fgura ahead on the 8th but Kirkop rescued a point with a goal by Orianski Buhagiar three minutes from time.

Dingli Swallows earned their first point in a goalless draw with Siggiewi. Marsa and Mellieha also ended in a goalless draw. In another match, Mdina and Marsaskala earned a point each in a 1-1 draw.

San Gwann lead the way with 11 points, followed by Zabbar on 10, Gharghur and Pembroke 9, Fgura, Kirkop and Mqabba 7, Marsa 6, Mellieha, Siggiewi, Senglea and Mdina 5, Marsaskala 3 and Dingli 1.