U*BET FA Trophy third and fourth round draws: Holders Hibernians take on Senglea

20131031-195703.jpgHolders Hibernians will be facing Second Division side Senglea Athletic in the third round of the U*BET FA Trophy. The draws for the third and fourth round were held on Thursday at the National Stadium.

Finalists Qormi will be facing Gozitan side SK Victoria Wanderers. Champions Birkirkara take on another Premier League side Vittoriosa Stars. Sliema Wanderers will face once again Zebbug Rangers who eliminated them last season while Valletta take on another First Division side Melita.

Photos: Copyright © Joe Borg

Mosta, Balzan and Naxxar Lions were drawn with First Division sides Lija Athletic, Birzebbuga St. Peter’s and Gudja United respectively; Tarxien Rainbows with Second Division side Mellieha, Rabat Ajax with BOV Third Division leaders Sirens and Floriana with Gozitans Victoria Hotspurs.

The six teams in the BOV Premier League Championship Pool last season were seeded.

20131031-200403.jpgAddressing the media before the draws, MFA CEO Bjorn Vassallo said that football is unpredictable and with the third round featuring teams from the various divisions from the Premier League to the Third Division and Gozo, surprises were possible. He reminded that thanks to new UEFA regulations, only the winner of the U*BET FA Trophy would make it to the UEFA Europa League. If the winner would have already qualified for European football, the three Maltese teams in the UEFA Europa League would be the teams placing second, third and fourth in the BOV Premier League.

Vassallo concluded by thanking Maltco Lotteries for their support in the development of the game.

Maltco Lotteries CEO Ioannis Katakis said eight and a half years had passed since the two parties started this collaboration. He said he hoped this partnership would continue for more years as this was one of the ways the company was showing support to the local talent.

Third round matches will be played between Friday 22nd November and Wednesday 27th November. On the other hand, fourth round matches are scheduled for Saturday 18 to Wednesday 22nd January.

20131031-200353.jpgThird Round
1. Birkirkara vs Vittoriosa S.
2. Mellieha vs Tarxien R.
3. Sliema W. vs Zebbug R.
4. Melita vs Valletta
5. Hibernians vs Senglea A.
6. Lija A. vs Mosta
7. Birzebbuga SP vs Balzan
8. St. Andrews vs San Gwann
9. Floriana vs Victoria H.
10. Pembroke A. vs Gzira U.
11. Siggiewi vs St. George’s
12. Naxxar L. vs Gudja U.
13. Pieta H. vs Mqabba
14. Qormi vs SK Victoria W.
15. Mdina K. vs Kercem A.
16. Sirens vs Rabat A.

Fourth Round
Winner 8 (St. Andrews or San Gwann) vs Winner 1 (Birkirkara or Vittoriosa)
Winner 15 (Mdina or Kercem) vs Winner 16 (Sirens or Rabat)
Winner 5 (Hibernians or Senglea) vs Winner 13 (Pietà or Mqabba)
Winner 10 (Pembroke or Gzira) vs Winner 11 (Siggiewi or St. George’s)
Winner 9 (Floriana or Victoria Hotspurs) vs Winner 12 (Naxxar or Gudja)
Winner 14 (Qormi or SK Victoria Wanderers) vs Winner 2 (Mellieha or Tarxien)
Winner 3 (Sliema or Zebbug) vs Winner 7 (Birzebbuga or Balzan)
Winner 4 (Melita or Valletta) vs Winner 6 (Lija or Mosta)