Women's national team loses 0-5 to Denmark

women-malta-denmark131124The Malta women’s national team lost 0-5 to Denmark in another match from Group 3 of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup at the Centenary Stadium on Sunday.

As expected the visitors proved too strong for the locals, taking the lead after just seven minutes through Sanne Troelsgaard Nielsen. Nadia Nadim doubled the score on 26 minutes and eight minutes later, Pernille Harder scored the third goal. Nadia Nadim increased the lead on 66 minutes and substitute Karoline Smidt Nielsen sealed the issue with a fifth goal four minutes from time.

The next game for Malta is against Serbia on February 13.

Photo: Copyright © www.stephengatt.com

[nggallery id=559]

MALTA Janice Xuereb, Gabriella Zahra (89′ Rebecca Chircop), Rebecca D’Agostino, Dorianne Theuma, Ylenia Carabott, Rachel Cuschieri (46′ Dionne Tonna), Antoinette Sammut, Stefania Farrugia, Charlene Zammit, Nicole Buttigieg (61′ Emma Xuereb), Kim Parnis.
DENMARK Cecilie Sørensen, Line Røddik, Line Jensen, Janni Arnth, Stine Pedersen (60′ Karoline Smidt Nielsen), Sanne Troelsgaard Nielsen (72′ Annika Hansen), Theresa Nielsen, Nanna Christiansen (79′ Mie Jans), Pernille Harder, Nadia Nadim, Johanna Rasmussen.
Referee: Sofia Karagiorgi (CYP)
Assistant referees: Angela Kyriakou (CYP), Niki Karagiorgi (CYP)
Fourth official: Luke Portelli (MLT)