Stoppage-time goal puts Wanderers in final

sliema-qormi140319pzcSliema Wanderers secured a place in the final of the U*BET FA Trophy as a goal in stoppage-time enabled them to beat last season’s finalists Qormi 1-0.

The game seemed heading for extra-time with no goals being scored but the Blues had other thoughts, notching the winner. In the final, Sliema – winners of the competition twenty times – will face Valletta who won the FA trophy twelve times.

The two teams shared the exchanges for most of the ninety minutes but Qormi were unlucky not to take the lead on 82 minutes when Joao Gabriel da Silva whose direct freekick hit the upright with Zammit beaten.

However just past the 90th, the Wanderers notched the winner when off a cross from the right by Jacob Borg, the ball fell at the feet of Ivan Woods after his first flick was blocked by Farrugia, hitting home from close range.

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Alex Muscat, John Mintoff, Mark Scerri, Stanley Ohawuchi, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Trevor Cilia (66′ Jacob Borg), Paltemio Barbetti, Matias Muchardi (46′ Ivan Woods), Stefano Bianciardi, Admir Vladavic.
Subs not used: Henry Bonello, Kane Farrugia, Axl Xuereb, Alex Podda, Beppe Muscat.
Coach: Alfonso Greco

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Jonathan Bondin, Emerson Vella, Giorgio Gianola, Raffaele Simone Quintieri, Triston Caruana, Joao Gabriel da Silva, Leighton Grech, Alfred Effiong, Duncan Pisani, Jorge Pereira da Silva.
Subs not used: Steve Sultana, Paolo Dandolo, Roderick Sammut, Stefano Zampa, Roderick Bajada, Leonardo Gabrieli, Dylan Pirotta.
Coach: Karel Zeman

Referee: Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Luke Portelli
Additional Assistant Referees: Marco Borg, Sandro Spiteri
Fourth Official: Peter Abela
Yellow Cards: Barbetti, Effiong, Scerri, Mintoff
Scorers: 90′ Ivan Woods