Early goal hands ten-man Valletta U*BET FA Trophy

valletta-win-fa-trophy2014pzcA goal after less than two minutes enabled Valletta to win the U*BET FA Trophy as they defeated Sliema Wanderers 1-0 despite having to play for the last twenty minutes in ten men. The Citizens therefore claim the double after securing the BOV Premier League title last week.

This was the thirteenth success in the FA Trophy for Valletta and the first double since Victor Sciriha took over as president.

Photos: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

Both sides were unable to field their best formation due to the absence of Steve Borg and Abdelkarim Nafti for Valletta and John Mintoff for Sliema as they were all ruled out though suspension.

Just like Saturday’s decisive BOV Premier League clash with Birkirkara, the Citizens had a perfect start, taking the lead on the 2nd minute when Lateef Elford-Alliyu received the ball inside the area and with a low shot from the right, he beat goalkeeper Glenn Zammit.

On the 12th, Paltemio Barbetti was unlucky to hit the woodwork for Sliema and off the rebound, Matias Muchardi hit just wide.

Six minutes in the second half, Stanley Ohawuchi concluded a good run with a low shot which was slightly deflected into a corner by Revishvili.

Valletta were reduced to ten men on 71 minutes when referee Clayton Pisani sent off Hamza Barry for retaliation.

However the Citizens still managed to control the opponents, going close to increasing the lead thanks to a Ryan Fenech freekick which was however saved in two attempts by Glenn Zammit on the 83rd.

Photos: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

[nggallery id=586]

VALLETTA Nukri Revishvili, Jonathan Caruana, Ryan Fenech, Roderick Briffa (39′ Edmond Agius), Lateef Elford-Alliyu, Alan da Silva Souza (39′ Hamza Barry), Shaun Bajada, Denni Rocha dos Santos, Irakli Maisuradze, Llywelyn Cremona (72′ Ian Azzopardi), Luke Dimech.
Subs not used: Yenz Cini, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza, Luke Montebello.
Coach: Andre Paus

SLIEMA Glen Zammit, Alex Muscat, Mark Scerri, Stanley Ohawuchi, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Ivan Woods (66′ Axl Xuereb), Trevor Cilia (77′ Abubakar Bello-Osagie), Paltemio Barbetti, Matias Muchardi, Beppe Muscat (62′ Jacob Borg), Stefano Bianciardi.
Subs not used: Henry Bonello, Kane Farrugia, Carl Cassar, Gabriel Aquilina.
Coach: Alfonso Greco

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Ingmar Spiteri, William Debattista
Additional Assistant Referees: Alan Mario Sant, Paul Caruana
Fourth Official: Jurgen Spiteri
Yellow Cards: Woods, Barbetti, Bianciardi
Red Cards: 71′ Hamza Barry
Scorers: 2′ Lateef Elford-Alliyu
Attendance: 6,736