England win UEFA Under-17 Championship after defeating the Netherlands on penalties

under-17-england-netherlands140521pzcEngland won their second UEFA Under-17 Championship as they defeated the Netherlands on penalties in Wednesday’s final in front of almost 9,500 spectators at the National Stadium. At the end of the eighty minutes, the score was 1-1.

John Peacock’s side therefore managed to revenge the 2-0 defeat to the same Netherlands in the last game from Group A which had cost them the top spot and a semi-final clash with Group B winners Portugal which however they managed to win 2-0.

Ironically for the Netherlands – winners of this championship twice in the past three years, this was the first defeat in the whole campaign after registering ten wins, including last Sunday’s 5-0 semi-final win over Scotland.

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

England had the first attempt at goal on the 2nd minute with Isaiah Brown testing Yannick van Osch with a shot from outside the area. The Netherlands replied with a through pass for Steven Bergwijn who advanced into the area before having a low shot turned into a corner by Woodman four minutes later. On the 9th, off a cross by Jonjoe Kenny, Joshua Onomah’s fine effort was blocked by a defender.

England took the lead on the 24th when off a corner from the right by Patrick Roberts, Onomah header the ball in the direction of Taylor Moore whose assist found Dominic Solanke at the right place at the right time to hit home past the Dutch goalkeeper.

Steven Bergwijn twice had powerful shots blocked by defenders in the a Dutch attempts to restore equilibrium.

under-17-england-netherlands140521pzc-1The Netherlands were however not to be denied just before half-time when Steven Bergwijn served Jari Schuurman who slotted the ball past Woodman.

Eleven minutes in the second half, England were awarded an indirect freekick on the edge of the goal area after the goalkeeper handled the ball after a back-pass. However captain Ryan Ledson’s powerful shot was blocked by the Dutch goalkeeper.

In the remaining minutes although two minutes from time, a defensive mistake almost allowed substitute Marlon Slabbekoorn to enter all alone inside the area but his conclusion was blocked by a defender.

With the result still draw, the penalty shoot-out had to decide the issue.

under-17-england-netherlands140521pzc-2Captain Ryan Ledson converted the first penalty for England, Dani van der Moot’s effort as parried by Woodman; Taylor Moore made it 3-1; Jari Schuurman converted the first penalty for Holland; Callum Cooke scored for England; Calvin Verdonk hit wide and Jonjoe Kenny handed England victory by scoring the fourth penalty for England for a final 5-2 score.

England captain Ryan Ledson was presented with the trophy by UEFA president Michel Platini.

England’s Dominic Solanke and Netherlands striker Jari Schuurman were presented with the top scorer awards after scoring four goals each.

Photos: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar

[nggallery id=595]

NETHERLANDS Yanick van Osch, Hidde ter Avest, Keziah Vendorp, Calvin Verloo, Donny van de Beek, Steven Bergwijn (47′ Marlon Slabbekoorn), Jari Schuurman, Segun Owobowale, Abdelhak Nouri (59′ Kenneth Paal), Bilal Ould-Chikh (76′ Dani van der Moot).

ENGLAND Fredrick Woodman, Jonjoe Kenny, Tafari Moore, Ryan Ledson, Joseph Gomez, Dominic Solanke, Isaiah Brown, Lewis Cook (74′ Callum Cooke), Taylor Moore, Patrick Roberts.

Referee: Andreas Ekberg

Attendance: 9,422