Draws for Youth FA Under-15 and Under-17 Leagues

youth-faThe draws for the Under-17 and Under-15 Leagues organised by the Youth Football Association were held on Thursday at the Centenary Hall, Ta’ Qali. This season, there will be a complete reform in the league set-up as the Youth FA and the MFA Technical Centre want to ensure more competitiveness.

The season will kick-off with a Knock-Out featuring the teams in Section C which would see twelve teams moving on to the group stage which includes the teams that were due to take part in Sections A and B. The knock-out will be played on two legs and if the aggregate score is a draw, penalty-kicks would determine the winner. The teams which are eliminated from the Knock-Out would play in Section D which would be played on a league-basis with the winner and runner-up being promoted to Section C.

In the Group Stage, the four teams play on a league-basis with the winner moving on to Section A, the runner-up moving on to Section B while the teams placing third and fourth will play in Section C1 and Section C2. Third and fourth-placed teams in Groups 1 to 4 will play in Section C1 while those from Groups 5 to 8 will play in Section C2.

Sections C1 and C2 will be played on a one-round league-basis and the winner would be promoted to Section B and the bottom-placed team will be relegated to Section D. In Section B, teams play two rounds and the winner and runner-up would be promoted to Section A. The bottom two teams will be relegated to Section C. In Section A, teams will be playing two rounds with the top four teams playing a mini-league for the championship. These four teams will be carrying with them the points obtained before.

The winners and runners-up of the eight groups in the group stage would be eligible to take part in the Knock-Out competition.

As from season 2015/16, the teams in Sections C and D will take part in the Knock-Out. Sixteen teams from Sections C and D would join the group stage. New teams will be automatically placed in Section D.

This format will be retained for three years.

Preliminary Round
Sirens vs Kalkara
Naxxar L. vs Marsa

Round 1
Sirens or Kalkara vs Dingli S.
Naxxar or Marsa vs Qrendi
Msida SJ vs Mellieha
Siggiewi vs Attard
Marsaskala vs Mtarfa
Luqa SA vs Gzira U.
Mgarr U. vs Santa Lucia
Zurrieq vs Sta. Venera U.
Ghaxaq vs Lija/Iklin
Cottonera U. vs Zejtun C.
Balzan vs Birzebbuga W.
Xghajra T. vs Fgura U.

GROUP 1: Valletta, Kirkop U., Balzan or Birzebbuga, Zurrieq or Sta. Venera
GROUP 2: Paola Hibs, Pembroke A., Marsaskala or Mtarfa, Luqa or Gzira
GROUP 3: Hamrun S., Rabat A., Siggiewi or Attard, Mgarr or Santa Lucia
GROUP 4: Sliema W., Zabbar SP, Tarxien R., Xghajra or Fgura
GROUP 5: Mosta, Zebbug R., Gozo, Ghaxaq or Lija / Iklin
GROUP 6: Melita, Birkirkara, Mqabba, Sirens or Kalkara or Dingli
GROUP 7: Pietà H., St. Andrews, Msida or Mellieha, Cottonera or Zejtun
GROUP 8: San Gwann, Floriana, Qormi, Naxxar or Marsa or Qrendi

Round 1
Birzebbuga W. vs Rabat A.
Fgura U. vs Attard
Marsa vs Ghaxaq
Mellieha vs Gzira U.
Msida SJ vs Siggiewi
Sirens vs Dingli S.
Mtarfa vs Xghajra T.
Zejtun C. vs Mqabba
Gudja vs Qrendi
Sta. Venera U. vs Lija / Iklin
Luqa SA vs Marsaskala
Mgarr U. vs Santa Lucia

GROUP 1: Pietà H., Zabbar SP, Cottonera U., Luqa or Marsaskala
GROUP 2: Paola Hibs, Tarxien R., Melita, Gudja or Qrendi
GROUP 3: Valletta, Zebbug R., Mellieha or Gzira, Mgarr or Santa Lucia
GROUP 4: Mosta, Naxxar L., Zejtun or Mqabba, Mtarfa or Xghajra
GROUP 5: Hamrun S., Floriana, Birkirkara, Birzebbuga or Rabat
GROUP 6: San Gwann, Pembroke A., Msida or Siggiewi, Marsa or Ghaxaq
GROUP 7: Sliema W., Balzan, Kirkop U., Sta. Venera or Lija / Iklin
GROUP 8: St. Andrews, Qormi, Fgura or Attard, Sirens or Dingli