Hibernians make it three wins in a row

Hibernians joined Birkikara and Mosta with maximum points from three matches as they came from behind to beat Sliema Wanderers 3-1.

The Wanderers therefore continue to chase their first win after two draws with Tarxien and Floriana in the first two outings.

Hibernians had two changes from the team which defeated Qormi as goalkeeper Henry Bonello replaced the now-retired Mario Muscat and Jackson Lima replaced the suspended Rodolfo Soares. On the other hand, John Mintoff and Trevor Cilia were named in the starting line-up for Sliema as they lacked Alex Muscat and Mark Scerri.

Marko Potezica put the Wanderers ahead on 27 minutes when he headed the ball home off a perfect freekick by Andrea Pisanu.

Hibernians equalised seven minutes from the end of the first half when off an assist by Clayton Failla Edison Luis dos Santos controlled the ball inside the area before hitting the ball past Glenn Zammit.

Two minutes in the second half, Hibs forged ahead thanks to Jorge Pereira da Silva who received a pass by Andrew Cohen, beating Zammit with a low shot.

The Blues were reduced to ten men on 56 minutes after Beppe Pace picked a second yellow card.

Three minutes from time, Hibernians sealed the issue with a third goal as Tarabai rounded the goalkeeper and served Jurgen Degabriele who slammed the ball home.

HIBS Henry Bonello, Keith Tanti, Rui da Gracia Gomes, Jackson di Lima Siqueira, Marcelo Dias (90+2′ Timothy Tabone Desira), Andrew Cohen, Bjorn Kristensen, Johann Bezzina, Clayton Failla, Edison Luis dos Santos (88′ Joseph Mbong), Jorge Pereira da Silva (83′ Jurgen Degabriele).
Subs not used: Jurgen Borg, Dunstan Vella, Zachary Scerri, Isaac Briffa.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

SLIEMA Glenn Zammit, Filippo Andrea Scozzese, Marko Potezica, John Mintoff (82′ Luca Martinelli), Michael Mifsud (66′ Axl Xuereb), Andrea Pisanu, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Trevor Cilia (75′ Peter Xuereb), Paltemio Barbetti, Beppe Muscat, Stefano Bianciardi.
Subs not used: Daniel Balzan, Iousef Meli, Axl Xuereb, Clive Psaila, Carl Cassar.
Coach: Alfonso Greco

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Jurgen Spiteri, David Castillo
Fourth Official: Marco Borg
Yellow Cards: Dias, B. Muscat, Jorginho, Bianciardi
Scorers: 27′ Marko Potezica, 38′ Edison Luis dos Santos, 47′ Jorge Pereira da Silva, 87′ Jurgen Degabriele
BOV Player of the Match: Jorge Pereira da Silva
Attendance at the National Stadium:

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Tarxien Rainbows were involved in a third consecutive draw as they were held in goalless draw by Pietà Hotspurs.

For the Hotspurs, this was the first point after losing narrowly to Birkirkara and Mosta in their first two outings.

Tarxien had three changes from the team which held Valletta in a draw last Saturday as goalkeeper Sean Cini, Kane Farrugia and Clebinho replaced Jonathan Debono, Ryan Sammut and Matthew Tabone. On the other hand, Quilin Refalo was handed a place in the starting line-up ahead of Terence Agius. Rafael Xavier was ruled out through suspension.

The Rainbows had the first attempt at goal with a Jorge Santos effort which was parried by David Cassar. Pietà replied with a Claudio Frances attempt which ended just wide. Late in the first half, a header by Pipico ended just wide off a freekick by Jorge Santos.

Five minutes in the second half, off an Alvaro Silva corner, a header by Alessandro Lopes was tipped over the bar by David Cassar. Two minutes later, an Alvaro Silva low effort scraped past the post after a good move on the right. Pietà replied with a shot by Kyle Cesare which ended just wide on 72 minutes.

TARXIEN Sean Cini, Kane Farrugia (69′ Matthew Tabone), Manuel Caruana, Owen Bugeja, Alvaro Andre Rodrigues Silva (88′ Ryan Sammut), Cleber Barbosa Viana (66′ Firas Aboulezz), Triston Caruana, Wesley Lima Silva, Alexander Cini, Alessandro Lopes Pereira, Jorge Santos Silva.
Subs not used: Sean Mintoff, Steve Sadowski, Nigel Vella, Manuel Xerri.
Coach: Clive Mizzi

PIETÀ David Cassar, Cain Attard, Christian Grech, Leonardo Fortunato dos Santos, Jurgen Pisani, Rafael Rodrigues da Silva, Quilin Refalo (46′ Terence Agius), Kyle Cesare (79′ Cleaven Cassar), Luke Micallef (59′ Orosco Anonam), Claudio Daniel Frances, Joao Gabriel da Silva.
Subs not used: Miguel Montfort, Dylan Agius, Karl Micallef, Nikola Pepelcevic.
Coach: Noel Coleiro

Referee: Chris Lautier
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Yellow Cards: Pipico, Fortunato, M. Tabone, R. Sammut
BOV Player of the Match: Alvaro Silva
Attendance at the Victor Tedesco Stadium: 600