Second 3-3 draw for Zebbug — Tarxien register first win

Zebbug Rangers came back from two goals down to earn the second point in a second successive 3-3 draw, this time with Floriana.

The Rangers had managed to take the lead but Floriana turned the score in their favour with three goals. However Zebbug never gave up and after reducing the gap, they managed to level matters late in the game.

The Greens had three changes from the team which defeated Pietà last week as Douglas Cobo, Joseph Borg and Amadou Samb were replaced by Manuel Briffa, Gary Muir and Matteo Piciollo. Thomas Paris, Ratko Mandic, Matthew Gauci and John Nwoba were awarded a place in the starting line-up ahead of Matthew Bartolo, Mauricio Britto, Lee Galea and Jacob Borg.

Floriana went close on the 5th when Gary Muir served Vito Plut whose conclusion was cleared off the goalline by Yessous Camilleri.

Zebbug took the lead on the 24th when off a Carlo Monti freekick from the left, Bojan Mamic headed the ball past goalkeeper Valerio Senatore.

Floriana equalised two minutes from the end of the first half when Vito Plut headed the ball home from close range when served by Brooke Farrugia with another header.

Just before half-time, Senatore was superb with a great save into a corner on Muchardi, served by Nwoba inside the area.

Two minutes in the second half, Vito Plut put Floriana ahead when Emerson Marcelina released Brooke Farrugia on the right and off the latter’s cross, Vito Plut flicked the ball past goalkeeper Jeffrey Farrugia.

Floriana made it 3-1 on 58 minutes thanks to substitute Steve Pisani who slotted the ball past goalkeeper Jeffrey Farrugia.

Two minutes later, Zebbug were awarded a penalty after John Nwoba was brought down inside the area. From the penalty spot, Carlo Monti converted to reduce the arrears.

On 78 minutes, substitute Mauricio Osmar Rodrigues Britto went close to equalising with a header from close range ending just wide.

Three minutes from time, Zebbug notched the equaliser as Mauricio Britto beat goalkeeper Valerio Senatore with a shot from outside the area following a deflection by a defender.

FLORIANA Valerio Senatore, Andre Scicluna, Emerson Marcelina, Clyde Borg (46′ Steve Pisani), Vito Plut (66′ Amadou Samb), Emanuel Briffa, Matteo Piciollo, Brooke Farrugia (72′ Joseph Borg), Gary Muir, Sacha Borg, Steve Bonnici.
Subs not used: Andrew Zammit, Neil Spiteri, Giovanni Galea, Isaac Galea.
Coach: Giovanni Tedesco

ZEBBUG Jeffrey Farrugia, Thomas Paris (79′ Miguel Ciantar), Matthew Gauci (85′ Lee James Agius), Ratko Mandic, Yessous Camilleri, Javier Dias Serrano, Matias Muchardi, John Ogechukwu Nwoba, Carlo Monti, Clifford Gauci, Bojan Mamic (64′ Mauricio Osmar Rodrigues Britto).
Subs not used: Luke Pace, Jonathan Xerri, Jacob Borg, Melvin Farrugia.
Coach: Jesmond Zammit

Referee: Andre Arciola
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, William Debattista
Fourth Official: Marco Borg
Yellow Cards: Dias, Bonnici Pisani, S. Borg, Samb, Piciollo
BOV Player of the Match: Emerson Marcelina


At the National Stadium, Tarxien Rainbows registered their first win as they beat Naxxar Lions 2-1.

The Rainbows were coming from four consecutive draws and this win puts them in fifth place on seven points. For Naxxar, this was the third defeat in five matches.

Tarxien had two changes from the team which drew with Zebbug as Kane Farrugia and Matthew Tabone replaced Ryan Sammut and Clebinho. Terence Vella, who notched the equaliser in the derby against Mosta, replaced Daren Falzon for Naxxar.

Tarxien held the initiative during the first half, going close with attempts by Triston Caruana and Wesley Pipico.

The Rainbows took the lead on 58 minutes when off a cross from the right by Jorge Santos Silva, Alvaro Andre Rodrigues Silva anticipated Julian Azzopardi, placing the ball at the back of the net.

Seven minutes later, the Rainbows doubled the score when off a cross by Wesley Lima Silva ‘Pipico’ Mattia Del Negro deflected the ball past Azzopardi.

Emmanuel Ibok Edet pulled one back for Naxxar on the 70th, heading the ball home following a Terence Vella corner.

Ten minutes from time, Tarxien could have increased the lead but Pipico’s powerful drive was turned into a corner by the Naxxar custodian in style.

TARXIEN Sean Cini, Kane Paul Farrugia, Manuel Caruana, Owen Bugeja, Alvaro Andre Rodrigues Silva (87’ Cleber Barbosa Viana), Triston Caruana, Wesley Lima Silva (90+2’ Ryan Sammut), Carlos Hevia Menendez, Alexander Cini, Matthew Tabone (54’ Jorge Santos Silva), Alessandro Lopez Pereira.
Subs not used: Sean Mintoff, Steve Sadowski, Firas Aboulezz, Manuel Xerri.
Coach: Clive Mizzi

NAXXAR Julian Azzopardi, Andrew Scicluna, Emmanuel Ibok Edet, Victor Bellia (71’ Daren Falzon), Terence Vella, Mattia Del Negro, Pape Gueye, Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro, Ryan Gilmour Cassar (46’ Angus Buhagiar), David Alejandro Reano (69’ Pablo Doffo), Emenike Uchenna Mbachu.
Subs not used: Luke Pecorella, Duane Bonnici, Jurgen Debono, Yaaron Sammut.
Coach: Winston Muscat

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Roberto Vella
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Tabone, Edet, Alessandro Lopes, Reano, Alvaro Silva, Gilmar
Scorers: 58’ Alvaro Andre Rodrigues Silva, 65’ Wesley Lima Silva, 70′ Emmanuel Ibok Edet
BOV Player of the Match: Alvaro Andre Rodrigues Silva