Third consecutive draw for Floriana

Floriana were held in a third consecutive draw as they could not go beyond a 1-1 draw with Balzan. Balzan, therefore, failed to move into second place although they now move to just one point behind second placed Birkirkara.

The Greens had only one change from the team which was held in a draw by Naxxar as Steve Bonnici replaced Sacha Borg. On the other hand, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza replaced Lydon Micallef for Balzan.

The best attempt at goal in the first half occurred on the 34th minute as Edison Bilbao Zarate rounded two players before serving the unmarked Gianmarco Piccioni whose effort hit the crossbar.

Three minutes in the second half, Vito Plut served Amadou Samb inside the area but the latter’s close-range shot was blocked by Steve Sultana. Two minutes later, a powerful shot by Steve Pisani from the edge of the area ended just over the bar.

Floriana managed to break the deadlock on the 53rd minute when off a corner by Steve Pisani, Amadou Samb headed the ball home from close range.

Balzan equalised on the 70th when off a cross by Michael Borg from the left, the ball was deflected into the direction of Elkin Serrano who headed the ball home past goalkeeper Valerio Senatore.

Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza missed a good chance of putting Balzan ahead two minutes later, hitting wide from an ideal position. A few seconds later, a powerful shot by Gianmarco Piccioni was blocked by the Italian goalkeeper. A freekick Gianmarco Piccioni ended just over the bar three minutes from time.

In added time, Floriana appealed for a penalty as Vito Plut ended on the ground inside the area but referee Claytonb Pisani waved play on.

FLORIANA Valerio Senatore, Andre Scicluna, Douglas Felipe Moreira Cobo, Steve Pisani (89′ Giovanni Galea), Clyde Borg (76′ Conor Borg), Vito Plut, Matteo Piciollo, Emanuel Briffa, Amadou Samb (74′ Emerson Marcelina), Brooke Farrugia, Steve Bonnici.
Subs not used: Andrew Zammit, Darrell Baldacchino, Neil Spiteri, Joseph Borg.
Coach: Giovanni Tedesco

BALZAN Steve Sultana, Justin Grioli (88′ Fredrick Nonso Odebe), Steve Bezzina, Elkin Orlando Serrano Valero, Edison David Bilbao Zarate, Osa Ice-Cream Guobadia, Clive Brincat, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza, Oscar Dario Guerrero (66′ Michael Borg), Luke Sciberras (53′ Lydon Micallef), Gianmarco Piccioni.
Subs not used: Mikhail Sciberras, Juan Corbalan, Samir Arab, Gianfranco Micallef.
Coach: Oliver Spiteri

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Roberto Vella
Additional Assistant Referees: Adrian Azzopardi, Glen Tonna
Fourth Official: Mario Apap
Yellow Cards: Serrano, Sciberras, Douglas Cobo, Plut, Samb
Scorers: 53′ Amadou Samb (F); 70′ Elkin Serrano (B)
BOV Player of the Match: Edison Bilbao Zarate