BOV Division 2: Fourth win for Hamrun Spartans

Hamrun Spartans kept marching on in the BOV Second Division as they defeated Dingli Swallows 2-0 in one of the six matches in programme on Sunday. The Spartans are the only team with maximum points from four matches.

Gharghur scored four in the second half to turn defeat into victory, beating Xghajra Tornados 4-1 to move second. Christian Magro put Xghajra ahead on 22 minutes but Muda Fagbeja equalised on 63 minutes. The Nigerian striker made it 2-1 ten minutes later while goals by Nicky Zammit on the 80th and Shaun Micallef on the 90th sealed the issue for Borislav Giorev’s side.

Senglea Athletic came from behind to beat Ghaxaq 4-1. Matthew Cassar gave Ghaxaq the lead on 27 minutes but Terence Scerri levelled matters on 35 minutes. Five minutes later, Timmy Thomas converted a penalty to put Senglea 2-1 ahead. Malcolm Mamo made it 3-1 on 83 minutes with Tyrone Thomas adding another two minutes in added time.

San Gwann went two goals ahead in the first half thanks to goals by Nikolai Muscat on 25 minutes and Shawn Vella six minutes later. Three minutes in the second half, Vella made it 3-0.

An own goal on the 14th minute paved the way for Swieqi with Jeremy Gatt Coleiro doubling the score on 76 minutes.

Zabbar St. Patrick defeated Siggiewi by the odd goal in seven. Zabbar took the lead through Shalon Diacono on the 26th minute and six minutes later, Nikolay Filipov doubled the score. Sam Vella reduced the gap for Siggiewi on the hour but eight minutes later, Shalon Diacono made it 3-1. Luke Cassar scored a second goal for Siggiewi on the 75th and Jean Claude Cesare made it 4-2 one minute in added time. Stephane Tape scored a third goal for Siggiewi two minutes later.

Hamrun Spartans lead the way with 12 points, followed by Gharghur on 10, Senglea and San Gwann on 9, Swieqi, Marsa and Mellieha 7, Zabbar 5, Zejtun 4, Ghaxaq, Sirens and Dingli 3, Siggiewi 1 and Xghajra 0.