Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events

The draws for the Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events were held last week at the Youth Football Association’s offices in Ta’ Qali.

Youth FA General Secretary remarked that eighteen eligible teams meant there was a record participation this season. Micallef explained in detail the rules and regulations for this event, including an amendment to allow the teams to use all their substitutes (7) in order to have more children playing, to which all the participants agreed. He concluded his intervention by praising all those nurseries, who showed great solidarity by offering their football pitches for free to be used for these Under-13 events.

Youth FA Vice-President Robert Attard delved into the issue of players registrations, where any team found guilty of having an ineligible player or less players registered than required by the regulations will be stopped immediately from playing any further part in the Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events. Robert Attard reminded the teams officials and coaches that this is not a competition, there is no final winner or trophy, but these events should be used to educate the young players and usher them to the competitive YFA Under-15 and Under-17 leagues.

YFA Fixtures Officer, Frans Zammit then explained the format of the Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events for this season, where the 18 teams will be drawn into two sections of 9, where they will play a round robin. The first four placed teams of each section will then be amalgamated into a single group and will play another round robin, whilst the other teams will play on a knock-out basis. The Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events will start this Saturday and will run up to mid-April, whilst in parallel having another 47 teams participating in the other Under-13 Event.

The draws for the Under-13 Inħobb il-Futbol Events resulted as follows:-
Section A: St. Andrews, Floriana, Lija/Iklin, Mosta, Mqabba, Paola Hibs, Zabbar St. Patrick, Tarxien Rainbows, Pembroke Athleta.
Section B: Melita, Rabat Ajax, Valletta, San Gwann, Naxxar Lions, Hamrun Spartans, Zebbug Rangers, Birkirkara.