BOV Division 2: San Gwann new leaders

San Gwann are the new leaders of the BOV Second Division after they registered their eighth consecutive win, beating Ghaxaq 3-0 to move two points clear of Hamrun Spartans. Shawn Vella opened the score on 19 minutes and two goals by Dylan Pirotta in the final two minutes before the end of the first half sealed the issue.

Zabbar St. Patrick won the derby against Xghajra Tornados 2-0 to maintain the challenge for promotion. Jean Claude Cesare converted a penalty on 37 minutes and deep into stoppage time, Randall Cassar doubled the score.

A goal four minutes in added time by Muda Fagbeja gave Gharghur a narrow win over Zejtun Corinthians.

Swieqi United came back from a goal down to score three in the final stages to defeat Marsa 3-1. Brian Zammit put Marsa ahead but ten minutes from time, Gabriel Buttigieg levelled matters. Two minutes in added time, Gabriel Buttigieg made it 2-1 and two minutes later, Kenneth Ekezie sealed the issue.

Sirens were held in a goalless draw by Mellieha while Siggiewi beat Dingli Swallows 2-1. Stephane Tape put Siggiewi ahead on the 3rd minute and four minutes later, Kim Buhagiar doubled the score. Kayne Said pulled one back on 41 minutes.

San Gwann lead the way with 24 points, followed by Hamrun on 22, Senglea 19, Zabbar 18, Gharghur 16, Sirens 14, Zejtun 13, Swieqi and Mellieha 12, Marsa and Siggiewi 8, Dingli 6, Ghaxaq 4 and Xghajra 3.