Ten-man Hibernians turn defeat into victory in Gozo

Ten-man Hibernians came back from one goal down to beat Nadur Youngsters 3-1 at the Gozo Stadium.

Birkirkara left it till late to beat Siggiewi 3-0 while Qormi defeated Floriana 3-1 in an all-Premier League clash.

Following a goalless first half, ten minutes in the second half, Nadur managed to break the deadlock when Claudio Antunes converted a penalty after Andrei Agius was adjudged to have handled the ball on the goal line – a controversial decision signalled by the assistant referee. Agius was sent off for the Paolites.

Six minutes later, Hibs were unlucky to hit the woodwork with a Clayton Failla freekick but they managed to equalise on the 78th thanks to Edison Luis dos Santos. Three minutes from time, Bjorn Kristensen made it 2-1 and four minutes in added time, substitute Johann Bezzina sealed the issue with a third goal.

NADUR Mark Grima, Charles Mercieca, Lucas Ramon dos Santos, Brian Meilak (82′ Mark Hyzler), Charles Hili, Claudio Antunes Pavlidis, Joseph Vella, Josef Buttigieg, Frankie Camilleri, Saviour Attard, Milos Stojanovic

HIBS Jurgen Borg, Timothy Tabone Desira (57′ Joseph Mbong), Rodolfo Soares, Jackson Lima, Andrew Cohen (94′ Jurgen Degabriele), Bjorn Kristensen, Clayton Failla, Andrei Agius, Edison Luis dos Santos, Jorge Pereira da Silva (89′ Johann Bezzina), Jonathan Pearson.

Referee: Sandro Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Peter Abela
Fourth Official: Marco Borg

At the Centenary Stadium, Birkirkara scored three goals in the final twenty minutes to beat Second Division side Siggiewi 3-0.

Ryan Scicluna put the Stripes ahead on the 70th. Haruna Shola Shodiya doubled the score on 78 minutes and Ryan Scicluna was again on target on 86 minutes to seal the issue.

SIGGIEWI Warren Cuschieri, Ian Darmanin, Emmanuel Muscat, Karl Mizzi, Edward Bugeja, Dennis Baldacchino (76′ Nathan Caruana), Francois Guihard (83′ Jason Camilleri), Stephane Tape, Mark Camilleri, Kim Buhagiar (86′ Ayrton Buhagiar), Eman Ciappara.

B’KARA Ini Etim Akpan, Antoine Borg, Eliandro dos Santos Gonzaga, Alejandro Mendoza Corujo, Nassir Ahmed Maachi (46′ Haruna Shola Shodiya), Matheus Bissi de Silva (60′ Paul Fenech), Nikola Vukanac, Zach Muscat, Edmond Agius, Kurt Zammit (60′ Ryan Camenzuli), Ryan Scicluna.

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Christopher Francalanza
Fourth Official: Adrian Azzopardi

Qormi beat Floriana 3-1 at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Vito Plut put Floriana ahead on 37 minutes but one minute from the end of the first half, Joseph Chetcuti equalised. Amadou Samb was then sent off for Floriana.

Frank Temile made it 2-1 on 73 minutes and Ryan Micallef added another three minutes from time.

FLORIANA Tyrone Gauci, Rodrigo Felix Aguiar, Marcelina Emerson, Vito Plut (78′ Giovanni Galea), Conor Borg, Neil Spiteri (46′ Matteo Piciollo), Emanuel Briffa (83′ Steve Pisani), Amadou Samb, Gary Muir, Sacha Borg, Steve Bonnici.

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Christopher Edafe Uzeh, Mauricio Matias Mazzetti Latini, Joseph Chetcuti (78′ Alfred Effiong), Clifford Gauci, Frank Temile, Ryan Micallef (88′ Bjorn Bondin), Zoran Levnajic, Duncan Pisani, Jonathan Bondin, Leighton Grech (90′ Steve Agius).

Referee: Andre Arciola
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, William Debattista
Fourth Official: Alan Mario Sant

Hibernians, Birkirkara and Qormi join Mosta, Valletta, Sirens, Pietà Hotspurs and Balzan in the quarter-finals of the FA Trophy which will be sponsored by the Attian Group. The quarter-final draws will be held on Friday during the launch of the new sponsor.