Pembroke Athleta BOV First Division champions

Pembroke Athleta were crowned BOV First Division champions after defeating St. George’s 5-2 in an entertaining clash at the Luxol Stadium on Friday.

In the derby, rivals Melita and St. Andrews shared the spoils in a most dramatic 2-2 draw at the Centenary Stadium. Melita move three points clear of Gzira United with the Maroons facing Mqabba on Saturday. In case of a win for Gzira, a decider for third place would be necessary to determine which team will be facing the team finishing tenth in the BOV Premier League in the Premier League Relegation Play-Off.

Following a goalless first half, Antoine Attard put Melita ahead on 54 minutes but Trayo Grozev equalised on the 78th when he converted a penalty. Ivan Tufegdzic was also sent off for the Amateurs, however Kane Micallef made it 2-1 but five minutes in added time, Mariglen Sehitaj notched the equaliser for Luxol.

At the Luxol Stadium, Ariel Laudisi put Pembroke ahead after just four minutes but Emerson Amaira equalised on the 24th. Pembroke regained the lead two minues later through Lyden Micallef but Noah Olawole restored equilibrium on the 37th. However one minute from half-time, Ousmane Sidibe restored the lead for Jacques Scerri’s side. Ariel Laudisi increased the lead on 76 minutes with Lucky Omeruo sealing the issue with another goal four minutes from time.

Pembroke end their commitments on 55 points, followed by St. Andrews on 51, Melita 45, Gzira 42, Gudja and St. George’s 41, Fgura 40, Vittoriosa 38, Mqabba 36, Lija 35, Rabat 26, Zurrieq 19, Msida 15 and Birzebbuga 12.