Kirkop United BOV Third Division champions

Kirkop United were declared BOV Third Division champions after defeating Mgarr United 2-0 in a Championship Decider at the Centenary Stadium on Saturday.

The decider was necessary after both teams ended their commitments on 52 points.

Michael Zammit was the hero for Albert Busuttil’s side as he put them ahead after just two minutes and doubled the score on the 71st.

Meanwhile Marsaxlokk finished third from bottom after defeating Luqa St. Andrew’s 3-2 in the Relegation Play-Off. Therefore Luqa, together with bottom-placed Ta’ Xbiex will have to re-apply to take part in the BOV Third Division next season.

Marsaxlokk managed to take a comfortable three-goal lead by the 54th minute as Manuel Caruana put them ahead on the 9th, Dylan Attard doubled the score on the 14th and Manuel Caruana scored a third goal on the 54th. Mark Said pulled one back four minutes later and five minutes in added time, William Mallia reduced the gap further for Luqa.