Fifth FA Trophy success for Birkirkara

With a goal in each half, Birkirkara defeated champions Hibernians 2-0 to claim the fifth FA Trophy win in the history of the club.

The Stripes, winners of the BOV Super Cup earlier this season, therefore made up for a disappointing BOV Premier League campaign in which they finished third.

On the other hand, for Hibernians, this was a disappointing finale after a successful season as they failed to win the double. A double the Paolites have been chasing since 1981/82.

Birkirkara showed greater determination throughout the ninety minutes, taking the lead on the 29th minute when off a Rafael Ledesma freekick from the left, the ball bounced in the middle of the area with no player clearing it into safety, reaching Mauricio Matias Latini Mazzetti who controlled before slotting the ball past Bonello in style.

The Stripes doubled the score on the 69th when off a cross by Joseph Zerafa from the left, the Hibernians rear-guard failed to clear the ball into safety and Rafael Ledesma slotted the ball past the Hibernians goalkeeper.

A minute later, Birkirkara could have added another but Paul Fenech was unlucky to hit the urpight from close range

HIBS Henry Bonello, Jackson di Lima Siqueira, Rui da Gracia Gomes (73′ Marko Rajic), Rodolfo Soares, Marcelo Dias (83′ Joseph Mbong), Andrew Cohen, Bjorn Kristensen, Johann Bezzina, Andrei Agius, Clayton Failla, Jorge da Silva Pereira.
Subs not used: Jurgen Borg, Keith Tanti, Dunstan Vella, Jurgen Degabriele, Timothy Tabone Desira.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

B’KARA Justin Haber, Zach Muscat, Nikola Vukanac, Mauricio Matias Latini Mazzetti, Joseph Zerafa, Paul Fenech, Rafael Pompeo Rodrigues Ledesma (90′ Gareth Sciberras), Edward Herrera, Rowen Muscat, Ryan Camenzuli (64′ Ellinton Antonio Costa Morais), Ryan Scicluna (73′ Matheus Bissi da Silva).
Subs not used: Ini Etim Akpan, Edmond Agius, Kurt Zammit, Nassir Maachi.
Coach: Paul Zammit

Referee: Andre Arciola
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Paul Apap
Additional Assistant Referees: Marco Borg, Mario Apap
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Vukanac, Failla, Cohen, Mazzetti, R. Muscat
Scorers: 29′ Mauricio Mazzetti, 69′ Rafael Ledesma
Attendance: 6,288