FA Trophy: Three Gozitan teams through to second round

Third Division sides Marsaxlokk, Ta’ Xbiex and Mtarfa and Gozitans Xewkija Tigers, SK Victoria Wanderers and Victoria Hotspurs joined Kercem Ajax and St. Venera Lightnings in the second round of the FA Trophy after emerging as winners in the six matches in programme on Saturday.

Gozitan champions Xewkija Tigers registered a comfortable 4-0 win over Luqa St. Andrew’s at the Charles Abela Stadium.

John Camilleri scored twice on the 10th and the 20th to give Xewkija a two-goal lead. Daniel Bogdanovic increased the lead on 34 minutes and added another one minute from half-time.

In another match, Marsaxlokk defeated Ghaxaq 2-1 after extra-time. Wallace Oliveira Santos Junior put Marsaxlokk ahead by converting a penalty on the 83rd minute but Florin Anton forced extra-time by equalising three minutes in added time. However Wallace Oliveira scored again for Marsaxlokk in extra-time to put them into the next round.

At the Gozo Stadium, Ta’ Xbiex scored four in the second half to beat Gozitan Second Division side Gharb Rangers 4-0. Following a goalless first half, Nicholas Scicluna broke the deadlock on 57 minutes. Scicluna doubled the score on the 82nd and two minutes later, Yaya Turay made it 3-0 before Andrew Xuereb added another in added time.

In another match, Victoria Hotspurs defeated Qala Saints 5-0 in a clash between two Gozitan sides. An own goal six minutes in the second half paved the way for the Hotspurs who dobled the score two minutes later through Michael Bezzina and Leonardo Granado added another by converting a penalty on the 54th. Oliver Curmi scored a fourth on the 68th and five minutes from time, Moussa Bamba sealed the issue with a fifth goal.

At the Luxol Stadium, SK Victoria Wanderers defeated Third Division side Attard 3-1 after extra-time.

In another match, a goal by Keithrick Sant gave Mtarfa a narrow win over Santa Lucia in a clash between two Third Division sides.

In the second round, Xewkija Tigers face Second Division side Marsa, SK Victoria Wanderers the winner of the Gozitan clash between St. Laurence Spurs and Oratory Youths while Victoria Hotspurs meet First Division side Mqabba. Ta’ Xbiex will be facing Second Division side Swieqi United, Mtarfa take on Kirkop United while Marsaxlokk meet neighbours Zejtun Corinthians.