BOV Division 2: Gharghur hit nine past Msida

Marsa retained a one point lead at the top of the BOV Second Division as they held second-placed Sirens in a 1-1 draw at the Luxol Stadium on Saturday.

Kristian Galea put Sirens ahead on the 18th but three minutes later, Paul Chimezie levelled matters for Marsa.

Gharghur move third thanks to a most impressive 9-0 win over bottom-placed Msida St. Joseph in another match at the Sirens Stadium. Jose Ramon Campos put them ahead after just two minutes and Reuben Vella doubled the score on the 11th. Campos added another on the 23rd and five minutes later, Karl Azzopardi scored the fourth goal. Three minutes from the end of the first half, Christian Stewart made it 5-0. Nikolay Zammit scored Gharghur’s sixth one minute in the second half. Brian Galea added another on the 61st and Campos notched his hat-trick on the 72nd. Two minutes from time, Ayrton Buhagiar sealed the issue with the ninth goal.

Mgarr United registered a second consecutive win as they beat Qrendi by the odd goal in seven at the Charles Abela Stadium. Lazar Doric put Mgarr ahead on the 4th but goals by Ryan Schembri on the 18th and Clayton Caruana on the 25th turned the score in Qrendi’s favour. However Lazar Doric hit twice for Mgarr on the 28th and 39th for Mgarr to restore the lead. John Nwoba restored equilibrium on the 68th but ten minutes later, Clayton Borg notched the winner for Mgarr.

Kirkop United scored deep into stoppage time to rescue a point in a 1-1 draw with Zejtun Corinthians at the Sirens Stadium. Jair Nelson Escobar Ortis put Zejtun ahead on 27 minutes but five minutes in added time, Alex Ribic converted a penalty to level matters.

Siggiewi and Zurrieq shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw at the Charles Abela Stadium. Abeeb Abiodun Williams put Siggiewi ahead on the 5th but Daniel Zammit equalised on the 32nd.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, Swieqi United and Zabbar St. Patrick earned a point each in a 1-1 draw.

Marsa lead the way with 13 points, followed by Sirens on 12, Gharghur 11, Siggiewi, Birzebbuga and Zejtun 10, Zabbar 9, Qrendi, Swieqi and Mgarr 7, Kirkop 6, Mellieha 5, Zurrieq 3 and Msida 1.