Floriana, Birkirkara share spoils in draw

Floriana and Birkirkara shared the spoils in a goalless draw at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. A result which allows Balzan to retain sole leadership, one ahead of Birkirkara, Valletta and Hibernians with the Greens lying in fifth place, three points behind the leaders.

This draw enabled Birkirkara to extend their unbeaten run to eight matches while for Floriana, this was the third consecutive positive result.

Birkirkara coach Giovanni Tedesco, who was facing his former team for the first time, had to make one change from the last game, including Ryan Scicluna for Rowen Muscat. On the other hand, for Floriana, Mauricio Villa replaced Clyde Borg who was retained on the bench.

The Stripes were reduced to ten men on 68 as Joseph Zerafa was sent off by referee Mario Apap for a foul in midfield a few minutes after being cautioned following an argument with an opponent.

However they were unlucky not to take the lead on the 79th as Vito Plut’s header hit the crossbar.

FLORIANA Matthew Calleja Cremona, Antonio Monticelli, Enrico Pepe, Steve Pisani (62′ Juninho Cabral), Mauricio Villa, Jurgen Pisani, Matteo Picciollo, Steve Bonnici, Emanuel Briffa, Nicolas Chiesa, Mario Fonatanella (88′ Firas Aboulezz).
Subs not used: Tyrone Gauci, Andre Scicluna, Darrel Baldacchino, Clyde Borg, Conor Borg.

B’KARA Justin Haber, Zach Muscat, Mauricio Matias Latini Mazzetti, Nikola Vukanac (70′ Marcelina Emerson), Ryan Camenzuli, Paul Fenech, Joseph Zerafa, Gareth Sciberras (75′ Edmond Agius), Ryan Scicluna, Vito Plut, Fabrizio Miccoli (35′ Ellinton Antonio Costa Morais).
Subs not used: Philip Schranz, Frank Temile, Kurt Zammit, Edward Herrera.
Coach: Giovanni Tedesco

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Chris Francalanza
Additional Assistant Referees: Adrian Azzopardi, Trustin Farrugia Cann
Fourth Official: Alan Camilleri
Yellow Cards: Zerafa, Pepe, Z. Muscat, Villa, Bonnici, Fenech
Red Cards: 68′ Joseph Zerafa
BOV Player of the Match: Nicolas Chiesa
Attendance: 1,496